Hong Kong & Overseas Bank Account OpeningIndependent third-party account-opening appointment service · Hong Kong & overseas

Overseas banking/United Kingdom

EuropeUnited KingdomLicensed-entity research

NatWest Bank Plc

NatWest’s published eligibility requirements for its personal Select current account include being at least 18 years old and a UK resident; its account-opening guidance further states that non-UK residents cannot open a NatWest bank account. NatWest also offers UK business accounts, but acceptance conditions for foreign-incorporated companies, non-resident controllers, and specific corporate structures should be confirmed in writing with the bank for each product.

Regulator
The UK Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) and the Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA); the FCA register entry corresponds to National Westminster Bank Public Limited Company, FRN 121878.
Check date
2026-10-26
Verify status
Some information remains to be confirmed: NatWest personal and business product/account-opening pages and official UK AML, tax-information-exchange, and sanctions materials have been reviewed. FCA official materials identify the entity name and FRN 121878, but the exact register-details page failed to load during this review, and extraction of the PRA list did not show a corresponding entity entry. NatWest’s current permissions and deposit-authorisation status have therefore not been independently verified. Account opening for non-residents and foreign-incorporated businesses, UBO/tax-number documents, remote witnessing methods, and specific processing times/fees must still be confirmed with the bank for the relevant product.

Research scope and official resources

Topic number:europe-natwest-bank-plc

selection.json lists this as a UK bank candidate among publicly listed large-institution selections based on 2025/2026. This is an institutional discovery lead, not a real-time top 100 ranking, proof of a license, promise to open an account, or conclusion about service availability.

Bank’s official website

Personal Eligibility and Documents

Publicly confirmed: Applicants for the Select personal current account must be at least 18 years old and UK residents; NatWest’s account-opening guidance expressly states that non-UK residents cannot open a bank account with NatWest. Non-UK nationals who are UK residents may be able to apply; the website notes that a valid passport and proof of UK address may be used, with specific identity documents assessed according to each person’s circumstances. People newly arriving in the UK need a UK address that can be used for an application and must complete identity and UK address verification before the account is opened. Public information does not confirm that people with only an overseas address, living abroad, or without UK residency status can apply remotely; nor does it list complete criteria for all nationalities, immigration statuses, length of residence, credit checks, or product exceptions. Confirm with the bank.

Personal information publicly disclosed or identified

  • NatWest’s personal account-opening guidance lists the following photographic identity documents: passport, full or provisional UK driving licence, EU/EEA driving licence, and EU/EEA national identity card. People who are not UK or EU nationals may need a valid passport and a UK government eVisa share code; confirm the rules applicable to the individual’s category.
  • NatWest’s personal account-opening guidance lists the following accepted proof of address: a full or provisional UK driving licence, council tax bill, utility bill, statement from a bank/building society/credit union, mortgage statement or solicitor’s mortgage letter, and HMRC letter. Use documents listed in the account-opening guidance and confirm any requirements concerning recency, format, and application channel.
  • The website states that online verification may require a selfie to be matched against a photo ID and may require proof of address; document details should match the application information. If you do not have a commonly accepted photo ID, the website lists alternative documents and telephone or branch assistance options, which should be confirmed for the specific circumstances.

Company eligibility and documents

Publicly confirmed: NatWest offers business accounts for eligible UK businesses. The startup account page states that it is for eligible applicants aged 18 or over, with a business operating for less than 1 years and turnover below £1m. The general business account page says it is for eligible UK businesses. The business credit card has separate requirements, including UK residency, being at least 18 years old, the business being registered in the UK, having a NatWest business account in the same name, and UK tax registration; these are credit card conditions and must not be treated as uniform conditions for all business accounts. Public information does not establish whether foreign-registered companies, businesses operating overseas, or non-resident directors/beneficial owners can open accounts, nor does it provide complete eligibility rules for all company forms; first confirm in writing with NatWest the specific legal entity, place of registration, place of operation, and the residence of directors/UBOs and the product.

Company information publicly disclosed or identified

  • NatWest’s public business account pages do not provide a complete account-opening document checklist applicable to all company types and applicants. The bank should confirm the requirements for a business account in writing, based on the company’s legal form, ownership structure, and product.
  • General compliance preparation suggestion (not a verified, uniform NatWest document policy): Company registration and existence documents, identity and address information for directors, authorized signatories, and ultimate beneficial owners, ownership and control structure, corporate tax identification information, business activities and expected account use, and an explanation of source of funds and source of wealth. The bank may request additional documents based on risk and individual circumstances.
  • NatWest’s business credit card page separately requires a UK registered address and UK tax registration. These are conditions for that credit card product and should not be taken to mean that all business deposit accounts require the same documents.

Address, tax, and remote / witnessed procedures

Address and tax

Personal: Public eligibility information primarily concerns UK residents. Online applications may require proof of a UK address; NatWest lists council tax bills, utility bills, financial institution statements, mortgage documents, or HMRC letters, among others. Tax-residency status may affect tax reporting for the account. NatWest says it checks tax-residence information, but the public materials do not confirm whether personal applicants must provide a specific TIN/NI number. An NI number may be prepared as general UK tax/employment information, but it is not a verified mandatory NatWest account-opening requirement. Business: The business credit card page requires a UK registered address and UK tax registration; it has not been confirmed whether this applies to all business deposit accounts.

Remote / witnessing

NatWest publicly supports online applications for some personal accounts, including taking a photo or uploading identity documents, a selfie, and possibly proof of address. This only indicates that an online verification process exists; it does not mean applicants can open accounts from anywhere in the world. The website also says that customers can contact a local branch about individual document issues. No general commitment was found for third-party witnessing, overseas notarization, or video witnessing worldwide. The bank should confirm in writing whether the application can be completed online, whether attendance at a UK branch is required, and whether alternative certification is accepted.

Public process reference

  1. First choose a personal or business account based on the applicant’s identity, place of residence and intended use, and check the eligibility requirements for that specific product. The personal Select account is publicly stated to require applicants to be aged 18 or over and UK residents.
  2. For a personal online application, prepare the photo ID and proof of address in the UK listed on the official website. The bank may arrange selfie verification and may request additional information. People newly arrived in the UK must first have a UK address they can provide.
  3. Business applicants should first confirm the target legal entity and product eligibility with NatWest, then submit company, director, and controller documents as instructed by the bank; the publicly available pages do not show a universal, complete document checklist.
  4. After submission, wait for the bank to complete identity, business and risk reviews; the website does not promise a uniform processing time for all applications. The bank will advise on the specific next steps if documents are incomplete or manual/in-branch verification is needed.

Compliance topics, details, and sources

UK AML/KYC and customer due diligence

The FCA explains that banks in the UK are subject to rules including the Money Laundering, Terrorist Financing and Transfer of Funds (Information on the Payer) Regulations 2017 and must apply risk-based customer due diligence, ongoing monitoring and appropriate controls. NatWest’s personal account opening page explains that it verifies proof of identity and usually requires proof of current address. The bank may request additional information based on the product, transaction and risk requirements; this is not advice on how to avoid scrutiny or a guarantee of account opening.

Beneficial owner, control structure and source of funds

Applicants should expect the bank to identify customers and relevant controllers/beneficial owners under the UK risk-based due diligence framework, and to ask about the company’s control structure, business purpose, and source of funds. Public FCA materials support the risk-based due diligence principle, but no complete UBO/source-of-funds document list covering all NatWest business products was found in this review. Confirm the specific forms, thresholds, and types of evidence with the bank.

Tax residence, self-certification, CRS and FATCA

NatWest says it checks customers’ tax residence and reports relevant financial account information to tax authorities where required by law. The UK HMRC AEOI process includes CRS and U.S. FATCA reporting; this does not mean that the United States has joined CRS, or that FATCA is equivalent to CRS. Applicants should accurately provide their applicable tax-residency jurisdictions and tax identification numbers. Public information does not confirm whether a particular TIN must be provided when opening a specific NatWest product.

UK financial sanctions screening

UK financial sanctions rules require relevant persons to freeze funds and comply with reporting obligations when they know or have reasonable cause to suspect that funds involve a designated person. The FCDO states that the UK Sanctions List is the sole official source of UK sanctions designations; banks may screen against sanctions lists and other risks, and applicants must make truthful disclosures and should not attempt to evade screening.

Deposit protection (eligibility restrictions)

NatWest’s business and startup account page states that deposits by eligible UK institutions are protected by the FSCS and shows a maximum of £120,000 in total per depositor. Whether a depositor is eligible and which exceptions apply should be checked against the FSCS and the account terms; the figure on the page should not be taken to mean that all deposits are necessarily protected.

Account Opening Compliance Information

Account Opening Compliance and Document Preparation Guide

This page lists separately the requirements published by the bank, local regulations, and document preparation suggestions. Acceptance and specific requirements are subject to confirmation by the bank.

This guide focuses on applications for business deposit accounts with National Westminster Bank Plc in the United Kingdom and their maintenance after opening. It does not cover other legal entities in NatWest Group or personal Select accounts. NatWest’s public website says its business accounts are for eligible UK businesses, but it has not confirmed whether foreign-incorporated entities, nonresident directors, or beneficial owners may apply. First ask the bank to confirm the proposed applicant’s legal entity and specific product.

Date information checked:2026-10-26

Document Preparation Checklist

Company legal entity and authorized applicant

Who it applies to
Businesses and their directors and authorized signatories intending to apply; these documents are for due diligence preparation and do not represent a complete list published by NatWest.
Documents to Prepare
  • Company registration/existence search documents showing its legal name, registration number, and registered address; also prepare the actual principal place of business (if different).
  • Company articles of association or other organizational documents, list of current directors/officers, and a board resolution or power of attorney authorizing account opening.
  • Identity documents and proof of authorization for the person acting on behalf of the company; if a company or other legal entity is a shareholder, prepare its registration and management information.
Description
The UK Money Laundering Regulations require relevant institutions to verify a legal entity’s name, registration number, registered address and, if different, principal place of business, and reasonably understand its constitutional documents, directors and senior persons responsible for operations. The identity and authority of anyone acting on behalf of the customer must also be verified. The law does not prescribe a uniform document format here. NatWest’s business product pages do not list a complete set of documents for all company types, so confirm with the bank whether originals or certified copies, translations, document validity periods and remote submission are accepted.

Ownership and control chain, actual owners, and source of funds

Who it applies to
Applicants with a company, partnership or multi-layer holding structure; recommended preparation, not a prescribed form or fixed ownership threshold set by the bank.
Documents to Prepare
  • A layered ownership and control chart showing ownership, voting rights, control arrangements, and place of registration at each level; prepare shareholder registers and relevant registration records for cross-checking.
  • Identity/residential details of the ultimate beneficial owners and key controllers; prepare a concise explanation and supporting documents for nominee arrangements, trusts, contractual control, or complex ownership chains.
  • Financial statements, bank statements, major contracts/invoices, asset sale records, or other documents that explain the initial deposit and expected source of funds. Select documents based on the actual source of funds; there is no need to submit everything indiscriminately.
Description
Regulations require taking reasonable measures to identify and verify beneficial owners and understand the ownership and control structure; due diligence cannot be replaced solely by information declared to a company registry. NatWest’s general business pages do not publish specific formats for proof of source of funds/wealth or the identification thresholds it applies. The documents mentioned above are suggested preparations to help explain the control chain and transaction background; they do not assert that any percentage threshold or document is mandatory.

Business substance, expected transactions and tax-residence information

Who it applies to
Businesses with cross-border customers/suppliers, multiple tax residences, or more complex payment flows; prepare information that reflects the actual business.
Documents to Prepare
  • A one-page business overview and business model; main customer/supplier regions; transaction currencies and expected payment frequency/amounts. Recent contracts, orders or invoices may be used as supporting evidence.
  • Tax residence, applicable tax numbers/identification numbers and tax self-certification information for the business and related controllers; accurately disclose any US tax status and do not conflate FATCA with CRS.
  • Explain the account’s purpose, transactions with related parties, primary sources of incoming funds, and how expected transactions correspond to the scale of the business. If operations have not yet started, a business plan, financing documents, or formation documents may be used to explain this.
Description
UK HMRC guidance explains that financial institutions report CRS and US FATCA account information under the applicable regimes, including fields relating to account holders, controlling persons and tax identification numbers. This guidance concerns financial institutions’ reporting rules; it is not equivalent to published NatWest application-document requirements. Confirm the specific self-certification forms, required tax identification numbers and subsequent update procedures with the bank.

Due diligence and enhanced verification

Beneficial ownership and control structure

Basis for Verification
The UK Regulations require customers and beneficial owners to be identified and reasonable steps taken to verify them, and the ownership and control structure of a legal entity or arrangement to be understood. Reliance on company registration information alone does not satisfy beneficial-owner due diligence. The provisions cited in this guidance do not provide a uniform account-opening document list applicable to all complex structures.
Preparation recommendation
Prepare a legible control chart showing each level’s place of registration, shareholding/voting rights, ultimate natural persons, and basis of control. If registration records differ from the actual arrangements, attach an explanation and supporting evidence such as agreements. Do not present 25% as a NatWest account-opening threshold that applies to all customers and circumstances.
Scope
UK regulatory requirements; NatWest’s specific thresholds, verification methods and document formats are not published.

Business purpose, source of funds and transaction rationale

Basis for Verification
Regulations require assessing and, where appropriate, obtaining information on the purpose and intended nature of the business relationship. Ongoing monitoring includes reviewing whether transactions are consistent with the institution’s understanding of the customer, business and risks, and checking the source of funds when necessary.
Preparation recommendation
It is advisable to explain the purpose of the account and the main funds flow using contracts, invoices, accounts or records of funds credited. Prepare the relevant business background for expected transactions that are markedly larger than the current scale of operations, come from third parties or are cross-border. The bank may ask follow-up questions on a case-by-case basis; no uniform list of source-of-funds documents for all businesses from NatWest was found.
Scope
UK regulatory obligations apply to the relevant institutions; the documents listed are examples of applicant preparation guidance, not universal mandatory requirements expressly stated by the bank.

Politically exposed persons (PEPs) and associates

Basis for Verification
The UK Regulations require institutions to establish risk procedures to identify whether a customer or beneficial owner is a PEP, family member or close associate. If a relationship is proposed, enhanced due diligence must be applied based on risk assessment, including senior management approval, verification of source of wealth and funds, and enhanced ongoing monitoring. For a UK domestic PEP, the Regulations set a lower starting point for risk assessment than for a non-domestic PEP where there are no other enhanced-risk factors. PEP status does not mean automatic refusal.
Preparation recommendation
If the customer or controller is connected with an important public office, a relevant family relationship, or a close business relationship, it is advisable to proactively prepare an explanation of the position and tenure, the path by which wealth was accumulated, and evidence of the funds being credited in this transaction, and to answer the bank’s screening questions truthfully. Do not conceal information or attempt to evade screening.
Scope
UK regulations; NatWest’s own PEP risk criteria, review timelines and acceptance decisions are not published.

Tax Residence and Account Tax Information

Basis for Verification
HMRC requires financial institutions to report applicable accounts under the AEOI framework, which includes CRS and US FATCA. Its reporting guidance lists relevant fields such as account holders/controllers and tax identification numbers. This regulatory information does not support inferring that NatWest requires the same form or a particular fixed tax number for every type of business account opening.
Preparation recommendation
First clarify the tax residences and tax numbers of the company and relevant natural persons. If a tax number for a jurisdiction is unavailable or there are multiple tax residences, prepare an accurate explanation and ask the bank how its forms should be completed.
Scope
Regulatory reporting rules and general preparation suggestions; NatWest's specific forms and customer-information update frequency are not public.

Ongoing Compliance Requirements After Account Opening

Keep due diligence information accurate and respond to reviews

The UK Regulations require relevant institutions to conduct ongoing monitoring, review existing records on a risk basis and keep due diligence information up to date. Customers should promptly respond to reasonable bank requests to verify directors, controllers, business purpose or funds. The Regulations prescribe institutional obligations; NatWest’s review frequency, notification channels and further-document deadlines for different businesses are not published on the pages reviewed. A fixed annual review should not be assumed.

Significant changes, authorised persons, and transaction records

If ownership/control persons, directors, registered address, business activities, tax residence, or expected cross-border fund flows change, it is advisable to update the information promptly through a bank-approved channel and retain supporting documents; the exact contractual notification deadline must be checked against the terms of this account. NatWest’s public account management page provides ways to manage accounts and payments online and contact support, and also describes a dedicated process for managing authorised signatories; this shows that management channels are available, but does not mean every type of change can be handled online.

CRS/FATCA Information and Explanation of Unusual Transactions

If the bank requests an updated tax self-certification, verify the account holder’s/controller’s tax-residency jurisdiction and tax identification number, and submit the information as requested. Keep contracts, invoices and records of fund flows in the ordinary course so that transactions inconsistent with the existing business profile can be explained promptly. HMRC publishes financial institutions’ reporting obligations; no standard cycle for tax-information reviews or deadline for explaining transactions for all NatWest customers was found.

Please confirm with the bank before booking

  1. Please confirm whether National Westminster Bank Plc accepts applicants with this place of registration, company form, industry, and intended account product; what eligibility criteria apply to foreign-registered businesses or entities that do not operate in the UK?
  2. Can directors, authorized signatories or beneficial owners who do not reside in the UK participate in the application? What identity/address evidence must each provide, and must they visit a UK branch?
  3. Which beneficial owners and controllers must be identified under this company’s structure? Please provide the current control thresholds, forms, and document requirements for multi-tier companies/trusts for this product.
  4. For company registration documents, articles of association, directors' authorization, UBO identification, and source-of-funds documents, are electronic files, translations, or certified copies issued overseas accepted? How is the validity period of each determined?
  5. For the countries/regions, currencies, customer and supplier categories, and expected transaction scale involved, is a special review required before account opening, or must additional contracts/proof of funds be provided?
  6. After account opening, which changes to ownership, directors, address, tax residence, or authorized signatories must be reported to the bank? Through what channel and within what timeframe, and how are account reviews usually arranged?

Not confirmed by public information

  • NatWest’s public business pages do not confirm eligibility for foreign-incorporated companies, non-resident directors/beneficial owners, or complex cross-border structures; eligibility must be confirmed in writing for the specific legal entity, product, and business.
  • No complete document checklist applicable to all business accounts was found, nor have uniform rules been published for document certification, translation, validity periods, remote witnessing, or submission channels.
  • The bank has not disclosed its internal risk appetite for identifying business customers, operational thresholds for beneficial owners, case-specific PEP standards, industry/country restrictions, or transaction limits; no inferences are made.
  • Account-opening processing time, deadlines for providing additional documents in individual cases, applicable fees, and maintenance review frequency are subject to the bank’s current information and account terms for the product.

Sources & Scope of Verification

  1. NatWest Business — Business Bank Account

    Verify that NatWest describes its publicly offered business accounts as intended for eligible UK businesses and states that fees and applications are subject to eligibility conditions. The page does not provide a document checklist applicable to all business forms or confirm eligibility for foreign-incorporated entities.

  2. The Money Laundering, Terrorist Financing and Transfer of Funds (Information on the Payer) Regulations 2017

    Full text of the UK legislation; section 28 on customer/corporate due diligence, beneficial owners, purpose and ongoing monitoring; section 35 on PEP risk assessment, enhanced due diligence, senior management approval, source of wealth/funds and enhanced ongoing monitoring. The legislation sets out institutions’ obligations; it does not prescribe NatWest’s document formats for each product.

  3. HMRC — How to report Automatic Exchange of Information

    HMRC financial institution AEOI reporting guidance, explaining CRS and US FATCA, account holder/controller categories, and TIN/identification number reporting fields; it is not a product commitment by NatWest concerning customer account-opening documents or forms.

  4. NatWest Business — Manage your business accounts

    NatWest’s account management page describes online account access, payments, account-management tasks, and ways to contact support; it does not specify notification deadlines for all legally required information changes or the frequency of periodic reviews.

Fees and timelines

The personal Select page reviewed for this research states that the account has no monthly account fee. The business-account page says fees vary by standard rates and services, and that the related fee booklet must be consulted separately. The startup-account page describes a product arrangement under which eligible customers pay no service fees for day-to-day transactions for the first two years, but this does not mean all fees are waived. No minimum opening deposit or standard account-opening time applicable to all accounts was found. Do not estimate fees or processing times on this basis.

Limitations and practical considerations

  • Public information indicates that personal account opening is primarily for UK residents. NatWest's official statement that non-residents cannot open a NatWest bank account is a substantive restriction.
  • Public eligibility for business accounts is aimed at qualifying UK businesses. Acceptance of foreign-registered companies, nonresident directors or UBOs, and complex cross-border structures has not been confirmed.
  • NatWest account pages are aimed at UK products and eligibility requirements. Its website terms of use state that users accessing the website in other jurisdictions are responsible for complying with local laws; this does not constitute a commitment to provide account services to customers worldwide.
  • Online applications and video banking services do not mean that global remote account opening, third-party witnessing, or foreign notarization is accepted; confirmation from the bank is required.
  • The institution discovery candidate set is not proof of licensing or acceptance, and this profile is not an account-opening channel currently available for appointments through Rengangyongsheng or a guarantee of account opening. Do not treat candidate status as a substitute for confirmation from the bank.

Licensing evidence and regulatory verification

Entity level: the FCA's official warning page identifies National Westminster Bank Plc, FRN 121878, as the FCA-authorised firm being impersonated, which is sufficient to identify the entity and its regulatory reference number. The exact entity page in the FCA Register was located, but it returned only a loading error during this review, so the current authorisation status, scope of permissions and details of deposit-taking permission could not be read. The entry point to the PRA's official list of regulated institutions was reviewed, but the extraction did not display the corresponding NatWest row. Therefore, this can only be recorded as “entity located; current licensing details pending verification.” The entry point or selected records cannot be used to claim that current permissions have been fully verified. FCA record entry point: https://register.fca.org.uk/s/firm?id=001b000000MfFIWAA3.

The UK Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) and the Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA); the FCA register entry corresponds to National Westminster Bank Public Limited Company, FRN 121878. Official registration or record

Information sources

  1. NatWest — Select Everyday Current Account

    Select account eligibility for people aged 18 or older and UK residents, the absence of a monthly account fee for this specific account, and account-specific conditions.

  2. NatWest — What do you need to open a bank account?

    NatWest’s general personal account-opening requirements, its page stating that non-UK residents cannot open an account, UK address requirements, online selfie verification, accepted identity and address documents, and guidance on documents for people newly arrived in the UK.

  3. NatWest Business — Start-Up Business Bank Account

    Publicly stated eligibility for the startup business account (business operating history, turnover and age), the product's daily transaction fee arrangements, and the website's explanation of FSCS protection for eligible deposits.

  4. NatWest Business — Business Bank Account

    General product information for eligible UK businesses, conditions specific to business credit cards such as a UK registered address and tax registration, business account fee information, and FSCS page information; a complete list of general business account-opening documents has not been published.

  5. FCA Financial Services Register — National Westminster Bank Public Limited Company

    Official entry point for precise FCA entity details. This dynamic page returned a loading error on this occasion, so it is only a registry entry point for pending verification of current permissions and status and does not, by itself, support a conclusion that the license has been verified.

  6. FCA — Clone of FCA Authorised Firm National Westminster Bank Plc, FRN 121878

    The FCA’s official page identifies National Westminster Bank Plc as the authorised firm being impersonated and lists FRN 121878; this identifies the entity and number and is not a current list of its permissions.

  7. FCA — Money laundering and terrorist financing

    The AML regulatory framework, risk-based approach, and due diligence and monitoring requirements applicable to the relevant UK banks.

  8. NatWest — Customer Tax Operations: FATCA and CRS

    NatWest explains CRS and FATCA under the UK AEOI framework, verification of tax residence, and reporting of customer information as required by law.

  9. HMRC — How to report Automatic Exchange of Information

    UK financial institutions’ AEOI reporting scope covers CRS and FATCA, reporting procedures, and account holder/tax identification number fields.

  10. HM Treasury OFSI — UK financial sanctions general guidance

    UK financial sanctions: asset freezes, prohibitions on dealing with sanctioned funds, and related reporting obligations.

  11. FCDO — The UK Sanctions List

    Official status of the UK sanctions list and the purpose of its information.

  12. Bank of England — Which firms does the PRA regulate?

    PRA regulator/deposit-taking bank register search entry point; the NatWest entity entry could not be located in the extraction reviewed, so this does not support a claim that item-by-item verification is complete.