Hong Kong & Overseas Bank Account OpeningIndependent third-party account-opening appointment service · Hong Kong & overseas

Overseas banking/United States

AmericasUnited StatesLicensed-entity research

Ally Bank

Ally Bank is an FDIC-listed, active, Utah-chartered insured depository institution primarily regulated by the Federal Reserve; Ally Financial Inc. is the holding company, not the bank entity for this account-opening profile. Its website’s personal account eligibility requirements are U.S. residency, a U.S. street address, being at least 18 years old, and an SSN or TIN. The website explicitly states that it does not currently offer business banking products.

Regulator
Federal Reserve System (FDIC records identify FED as the primary federal regulator); Ally Bank is a Utah-chartered bank, and the FDIC provides deposit insurance.
Check date
2026-10-26
Verify status
Some information remains to be confirmed: The FDIC official institution API was used to verify Ally Bank’s specific insured-depository institution record (certificate 57803, current operating status, Utah state-chartered classification, and Federal Reserve primary regulator field; API snapshot as of 2026-10-23), and the bank website’s personal account-opening conditions, products, and business-product restrictions were checked. Items not publicly confirmed include application conditions for certain non-US citizens residing in the US, exceptions for non-residents abroad, specific identity-document/proof-of-address formats, global remote witnessing, Ally’s account-by-account FATCA reporting process, and approval timelines. In addition, no separate authorisation document from the Utah state regulator was obtained, so it is not claimed that all details of state-level licensing have been verified.

Research scope and official resources

Topic number:americas-ally-bank

Retained as background to the selection of large U.S. banking groups in the 2026 year The Banker Top 1000 (Tier 1 capital measure) candidate list in selection.json. This group is used only as a selection clue; it does not indicate Ally Bank’s separate ranking, whether account opening is available, or licensing status, and is not a current top 100 list.

Bank’s official website

Personal Eligibility and Documents

Ally Bank publicly states on its website that individual applicants must be US residents, provide a US street address and be at least 18 years old. A bank account application may use a Social Security number (SSN) or Tax Identification Number (TIN), and available account types include Spending, Savings, CD, Money Market and IRA. The website does not list US citizenship as a separate public requirement, nor does it explain how it reviews non-US citizens living in the US or different immigration/tax statuses. Eligibility should therefore not be inferred solely from nationality or possession of a TIN; the bank must confirm each case. Overseas non-residents without US residency or a US street address do not meet the public account-opening conditions listed on the website; no exception channel for overseas non-residents is published.

Personal information publicly disclosed or identified

  • The bank’s official website explicitly states the following personal eligibility/application requirements: applicants must be at least 18 years old, be U.S. residents, have a U.S. street address, and provide an SSN or TIN for an Ally Bank account. The website’s FAQ does not specify the acceptable form of proof of address. Source: s1.
  • Ally’s website account-opening instructions say that applicants must provide personal information, an address, and an SSN/TIN; it does not publicly confirm government-issued photo ID types, upload formats, or additional supporting documents applicable to all applicants. Source: s1.
  • General compliance preparation suggestion (not a customer document policy published by Ally): You may prepare your name, date of birth, U.S. residential address, tax identification number, and valid government-issued photo ID in advance. The general U.S. banking CIP framework requires banks to collect identity information and verify it on a risk basis; FFIEC lists a driver’s license or passport as examples of common verification documents. The final requirements in an individual Ally case must be confirmed by the bank. Source: s7.
  • If intending to hold deposits in an eligible personal trust in an individual’s name, Ally’s website separately lists requirements such as a trust certificate or trust agreement and grantor/trustee information. This is a separate list for a personal trust product, not the requirements for an ordinary personal or company account. Source: s12.

Company eligibility and documents

The official website explicitly states that it currently does not offer business banking products or business or corporate trust accounts. Accordingly, this review found no evidence that U.S. companies, foreign companies, or other business entities can apply for business deposit accounts at Ally Bank. Company formation documents, UBO information, or source-of-funds documents should not be presented as a list of materials required by the bank to open a business account. The official website does describe personal deposit accounts for certain individuals/family trusts, but this should not be taken to imply that companies or business trusts can open accounts.

Company information publicly disclosed or identified

  • Not applicable: Ally's official website states that it currently does not offer business banking products and does not offer business/corporate trust accounts; the bank has not published a list of documents for opening business accounts. This must not be understood to mean that an application can be made by submitting company registration, UBO, or source-of-funds documents. Sources: s3, s12.

Address, tax, and remote / witnessed procedures

Address and tax

The bank’s stated personal eligibility requirements specify U.S. residency and a U.S. street address; the official website does not explain overseas addresses, P.O. boxes, third-party addresses, or acceptable types of proof of address. Personal bank accounts can use an SSN or TIN, but the website does not further explain acceptance of ITINs, other tax numbers, or specific tax statuses. The IRS W-9 guidance states that U.S. individuals, including foreign nationals who are U.S. tax residents, may provide a TIN as required; an SSN is generally an individual’s TIN. Some foreign nationals who are U.S. tax residents and are ineligible to apply for an SSN may apply for an ITIN as provided by the rules. This is background on federal tax status and does not mean Ally promises to open accounts for holders of every type of tax number. The OECD 2026-09-30 automatic exchange commitment table does not list the United States as a jurisdiction committed to first CRS exchanges; a footnote explains that the United States has exchanged information automatically under FATCA since 2015. Do not state that the United States has joined CRS. Ally’s FATCA documents, tax-residency self-certification, and cross-border reporting processes for specific accounts were not confirmed by the sources reviewed; confirm with the bank.

Remote / witnessing

Ally is an online bank. Its website says it has no physical branches and publicly offers account opening through its website, mobile app, and by phone. However, no publicly available policy was found confirming support for global video witnessing, remote account opening from abroad, or third-party witnessing. Applying online does not mean that nonresidents abroad may apply, nor does it constitute notarization or witnessing arrangements. Personal trust documents may be uploaded online or mailed as directed by the website, but this does not support an inference that ordinary personal account opening can be completed through remote witnessing.

Public process reference

  1. On Ally’s official website, select a personal account product and choose Open Account. The website lists Spending, Savings, CD, Money Market and IRA account types. You can also apply by phone by calling the number published in the official account-opening FAQ. Source: s1.
  2. Enter the personal information, U.S. address, and SSN/TIN required for the application, and select the applicable account terms and funding option. The bank may conduct identity verification and federal compliance checks. Sources: s1, s7.
  3. After submission, wait for the bank’s approval email. The website says an email is sent if the application is approved; it does not publish a guaranteed approval time or approval criteria. Source: s1.
  4. After opening an account, you can fund it, subject to the bank’s instructions, by transfer from an external account, mobile check deposit, wire transfer, mailed check or direct deposit. Confirm the applicable posting times and fees for the relevant product and transaction. Source: s1.

Compliance topics, details, and sources

U.S. AML/KYC and Customer Identification

U.S. banks must establish a Customer Identification Program (CIP) to verify an account applicant’s identity on a risk basis and retain required records. The FFIEC supervisory examination manual states that, in general, banks must collect a name, an individual’s date of birth, address, and identification number, and explains that verification may be documentary or non-documentary. Ally itself publicly says it reviews applicants’ credit information to verify identity, prevent online fraud, and comply with federal requirements, and states that this inquiry will not affect the credit score. This framework does not establish that Ally requires a specific fixed ID document or allows nonresident applicants living outside the United States to open accounts.

UBO, customer due diligence and source of funds

The U.S. FinCEN CDD Rule requires covered financial institutions to establish risk-based customer due diligence procedures, including understanding the nature and purpose of the relationship, developing a customer risk profile, and ongoing monitoring; the rule text lists natural persons who hold 25% or more of the ownership interests in legal entity customers and control persons as subjects for beneficial owner identification and verification. The FinCEN page also lists an 2026 ruling on exceptions to the identification and verification requirements at every account opening, so applicability must be considered in light of current rules and interpretations of the exception. Ally does not offer business banking products, and no public list of source-of-funds materials for its personal customers was found in this review; general U.S. CDD requirements should not be misrepresented as Ally-specific UBO or source-of-funds document policies.

U.S. Tax Identification, FATCA, and CRS

Ally’s account-opening FAQ says that bank customers must sign a signature card and that, if the record is missing, federal backup withholding may be applied to account interest. The FAQ does not confirm that customers must submit a specific version of Form W-9 or explain the complete tax self-certification process. IRS Form W-9 guidance explains TIN certification for U.S. persons and related withholding tax rules. OECD automatic exchange commitment documents as of 2026-09-30 list CRS committed exchange jurisdictions but not the United States, and explicitly state that the United States has automatically exchanged information under FATCA since 2015; therefore, the United States must not be described as a CRS participating jurisdiction. Whether Ally makes any particular FATCA report for a customer or account must still be confirmed with the bank in writing.

U.S. Sanctions Screening and Transaction Restrictions

The U.S. Department of the Treasury’s OFAC explains that financial institutions must not process transactions involving sanctions targets in violation of applicable sanctions rules. OFAC FAQs make clear there is no minimum or maximum transaction amount below which sanctions rules do not apply, and explain that the law does not generally require financial institutions to use software or a particular type of scan when opening accounts. Ally’s specific screening procedures, customer rejection criteria, and requirements for additional documents have not been confirmed by the public sources reviewed. Applicants must comply with the bank’s requirements and applicable sanctions laws, and should not attempt to evade screening.

FDIC Deposit Insurance

FDIC BankFind API records show that Ally Bank is an FDIC-insured depository institution with ACTIVE=1, insured since 2004-08-02. Ally’s website states that the standard insurance amount is up to US$250,000 per depositor, per insured depository bank, per ownership category. This is a deposit insurance limit, not an account balance limit, and it does not guarantee that any investment product is insured.

Compliance evidence

Account-opening compliance and supporting-document checklist

The bank’s stated requirements, local regulations, and preparation recommendations are presented separately. Acceptance in a specific case is subject to confirmation by the bank.

This guide covers only the personal deposit account application scenarios listed on Ally Bank’s official website; it does not apply to companies, business trusts, or nonresident applicants abroad. The published conditions are U.S. residency, a U.S. street address, being at least 18 years old, and the ability to use an SSN or TIN. These conditions do not guarantee approval, and eligibility has not been individually confirmed for non-U.S. citizens residing in the U.S., specific tax identification numbers, or cross-border fund scenarios. (cg-1, cg-2)

Date information checked:2026-10-26

Information evidence package

Personal identity, residential address and tax number information

Who it applies to
Individuals intending to apply for a personal deposit account with Ally Bank; company account applications are not applicable, as the official website says it does not offer business banking products.
Documents to Prepare
  • Prepare the legal name, date of birth, U.S. street address, and SSN or TIN required by the application form. This is publicly listed account-opening information/eligibility information and does not mean that every type of tax identification number is guaranteed to be accepted.
  • As a general preparation suggestion, prepare valid government-issued photo identification and documents showing your current residential address so they can be provided promptly if the bank requests additional verification. Ally has not published required identification types, proof-of-address formats, or validity periods.
  • If using an identity document, address or tax number arrangement that is not commonly accepted for the applicant, first confirm with the bank what document types and submission methods it accepts. Do not assume that merely having a TIN establishes eligibility.
Description
Ally’s FAQ says that it reviews applicants’ credit information for identity verification, online fraud prevention, and compliance with federal regulations. The FFIEC examination manual sets out the minimum identifying information for bank CIP and permits risk-based verification using documents, non-documentary methods, or a combination; a driver’s license or passport is only a common example, not a specific list published by Ally. Requirements for originals, certified copies, translations, and paper or electronic formats are not publicly available. (cg-1, cg-3)

Account purpose, anticipated fund activity and explanation of source

Who it applies to
Individual applicants; risk-based due-diligence preparation advice, not an account-opening document checklist published by Ally.
Documents to Prepare
  • Prepare a concise explanation of the account’s purpose, main sources of incoming funds, expected frequency and approximate amounts, and whether international transfers or large one-off deposits are expected.
  • If requested by the bank for an individual case, you may prepare payslips, tax/income records, asset-sale documents or statements from the original funding account consistent with the stated source of funds. Do not assume in advance that these documents will be required.
  • Ensure that the planned transactions are consistent with the individual's occupation, income and intended account use; if actual activity later changes significantly, retain documents explaining the reason for the change.
Description
The FFIEC identifies understanding the nature and purpose of the relationship, developing a customer risk profile, and ongoing risk-based monitoring as components of the bank CDD framework. For higher-risk situations, source of funds/wealth, occupation, and expected transactions may be considered as supplementary information. This is a regulatory framework and general preparation advice, not a publicly stated requirement by Ally for every individual customer. (cg-4)

Signature Card and Tax Identification Preparation

Who it applies to
Ally Bank personal account applicants and account-authorized signers; scope as stated in Ally's FAQ.
Documents to Prepare
  • Complete the account signature card as directed by Ally. Its website says that each customer must have a signature card on record and that each customer generally needs only one, regardless of how many accounts they hold.
  • Check that the applicant’s name and SSN/TIN match the identity information required by the bank; if the bank separately requests tax forms, provide them in accordance with its instructions at that time.
  • If there are multiple authorised signatories on the account, ask before booking what signing steps each person must complete and which electronic signing methods are available.
Description
Ally’s FAQ says that if it has not received a signature card, the customer must sign one within 60 days after the opening deposit is received; otherwise, federal backup withholding may be applied to account interest and will not stop until the card is on file. The page does not say that all applicants must submit a specific version of Form W-9, nor does it detail remote signing procedures; do not equate preparing tax forms with the bank having requested their submission. (cg-1)

Due diligence and enhanced verification

Identity Verification and Additional Documents

Basis for Verification
The U.S. bank CIP regulatory baseline requires collecting a name, an individual’s date of birth, address, and identification number, and using document-based or non-documentary verification based on risk. Ally publicly requires U.S. residency, a U.S. street address, applicants to be at least 18 years old, and an SSN/TIN, and says it will review credit information; it has not published a fixed list of photo ID or proof-of-address documents. (cg-1, cg-3)
Preparation recommendation
First check that the application details match the records for identity documents, address and tax ID. Keep bank calls and secure messages, and provide additional documents as requested for the individual case. These are preparation suggestions and do not assume that a particular identity document or certified copy must be uploaded.
Scope
The first sentence describes the U.S. CIP regulatory baseline; the following points describe information expressly stated on Ally's website and matters not publicly disclosed. They do not represent Ally's specific internal verification rules.

Expected transactions, source of funds and risk review

Basis for Verification
The FFIEC requires banks to understand the nature and purpose of customer relationships and expected transactions on a risk basis, and to conduct ongoing monitoring; examples of supplementary information for higher-risk customers include source of funds/wealth and occupation. This framework does not constitute an Ally policy of routinely requesting proof of source of funds from individual customers. (cg-4)
Preparation recommendation
Provide a consistent, specific explanation of the account’s purpose and sources of incoming funds; if transactions differ from what was initially expected, prepare information explaining the amounts, counterparties and business/personal background so you can respond to bank enquiries.
Scope
Regulatory guidance and general preparation suggestions; Ally's triggers for requesting additional documents from personal customers are not public.

PEP, sanctions screening and cross-border circumstances

Basis for Verification
The Ally account-opening and account-information pages reviewed for this research do not publish details of PEP/sanctions screening, standards for handling name matches, or eligibility for cross-border applications/deposits. FFIEC identifies PEPs as a customer category that may require enhanced due diligence, but this does not describe Ally’s standards for accepting or rejecting individual cases. It should not be inferred that PEPs are always rejected or that cross-border applications can be opened. (cg-1, cg-2, cg-4)
Preparation recommendation
If you or a related person has public-office status, cross-border residence, or plans to receive funds from overseas, ask the bank truthfully before opening the account about the relationships, jurisdictions, and fund routes that must be disclosed, and the verification/additional-document process in the event of a screening match. Do not attempt to split or conceal transactions to evade review.
Scope
The bank’s specific policy is not public. This only describes the scope of materials available for this review and the regulatory risk context; it does not assert that any individual is a sanctions target or will necessarily face restrictions.

U.S. Residency Eligibility and Tax Identification

Basis for Verification
Ally publicly states that eligibility requires U.S. residency and a U.S. street address, and that bank accounts use an SSN or TIN; however, its website does not detail eligibility for non-U.S. citizens, ITIN holders, or different tax statuses, nor does the FAQ explain the complete tax-form process. (cg-1)
Preparation recommendation
Explain your actual residence/tax status to the bank and confirm the types of tax identification numbers it accepts, the tax certification forms, and whether additional evidence is required. General tax law provisions permitting a particular type of TIN do not establish that Ally will accept it.
Scope
The bank expressly sets out eligibility and matters not published. Tax documents should be confirmed on a case-by-case basis.

Ongoing maintenance obligations

Changes to Personal Information and Address

Ally allows customers to update some personal contact information online. Its website says name or address changes require identity verification and directs customers to call 1-877-247-2559. Trust, custodial, or other fiduciary account address updates follow a separate form process. Keeping bank contact details accurate and up to date is a prudent practice; the bank has not published a standard processing time for all changes on the pages reviewed. (cg-2)

Transaction monitoring and updating information

The bank must conduct ongoing due diligence based on customer risk and monitor suspicious transactions, and update relevant information when monitoring identifies significant changes to customer information. FFIEC states that information updates are an event-triggered, risk-based process; it does not impose a uniform requirement for every customer to update information on a fixed schedule. Customers should respond promptly to bank verification requests and retain explanations supporting significant transactions that deviate from the stated purpose. (cg-4)

Signature Card and Account Notices

Confirm that the signature card has been completed and filed in accordance with Ally's process; the FAQ states that if it is not signed, backup withholding on interest may begin 60 days after the opening deposit is received, continuing until the card is on file. Watch for emails or secure messages from the bank about account details, application status and additional documents; the pages reviewed do not publish a periodic KYC review cycle. (cg-1)

Please confirm with the bank before booking

  1. I am a non-U.S. citizen residing in the United States, hold [specific tax identification number type], and use a U.S. street address. Do I meet the published eligibility requirements for this personal deposit account?
  2. In addition to the personal information and SSN/TIN on the application, does this case require a government-issued photo ID or proof of address? What document formats, upload channels, translation or certification requirements are acceptable?
  3. Can the signature card be signed electronically online? When is the account-opening deposit considered received, how is the 60-day signing deadline calculated, and how should multiple authorized signers proceed?
  4. If you plan to receive an overseas remittance or a large one-off payment after opening the account, will the bank accept this use? What explanations of the source of funds might be required when opening the account or receiving the funds?
  5. How does the bank handle cases involving PEPs or name/location screening that require further verification? What associated relationships and supporting documents must be disclosed, and are there geographic or remittance-route restrictions that should be confirmed in advance?
  6. Through which channels should the bank be notified separately of changes to name, address or tax information? Is identity verification by phone or a form submission required?

Not confirmed by public information

  • The official website publishes requirements for U.S. residents, a U.S. street address, and an SSN/TIN; it does not confirm separately the specific circumstances or exceptions for non-U.S. citizens residing in the United States or tax identification numbers such as an ITIN.
  • The pages reviewed do not list photo ID, proof of address, document validity periods, translation or notarization requirements, or upload formats for ordinary personal account opening at Ally.
  • The bank has not published the conditions that trigger a request for proof of source of funds from individual applicants, cross-border eligibility, details of PEP/sanctions screening, or the standards for handling screening matches.
  • The sources reviewed did not confirm the application approval timeframe, the deadline for providing additional documents in an individual case, the frequency of periodic KYC reviews, or the specific electronic-signature process for the signature card.
  • Not applicable to companies and commercial trusts: Ally publicly states that it does not currently offer business banking products; these personal preparation documents should not be applied to company account opening.

Sources & Scope of Verification

  1. Ally Bank — Opening an Account FAQs

    Ally’s official account-opening FAQ: U.S. residency, a U.S. street address, age 18 or older, and an SSN/TIN are required. The application asks for personal information, and the bank reviews credit information for identity verification. It explains the signature card, the 60-day period, and interest backup withholding. The FAQ does not list general photo ID or proof-of-address formats.

  2. Ally Bank — Account Information FAQs

    Ally’s official account information FAQ: it does not currently offer business banking products; methods for updating personal contact information and addresses; identity verification is required for name and address changes, and customers may call; forms and secure-message submission methods for fiduciary account address changes.

  3. FFIEC BSA/AML Examination Manual — Customer Identification Program

    The FFIEC Examination Manual describes the CIP regulatory baseline: minimum identifying information is name, individual’s date of birth, address, and identification number; verification may be documentary or non-documentary and risk-based. A driver’s license or passport are common examples, not a prescribed Ally checklist.

  4. FFIEC BSA/AML Examination Manual — Customer Due Diligence Overview

    FFIEC CDD Examination Manual: Take a risk-based approach to understanding the nature and purpose of customer relationships, the risk profile, and expected transactions; conduct ongoing monitoring and update information based on risk when material changes occur. Source of funds/wealth and occupation are examples of supplementary information that may be considered in higher-risk situations. Information need not be updated continuously or at a fixed, uniform interval.

Fees and timelines

Ally’s account-opening FAQ states that the account-opening fee is US$0 and that there is no monthly service fee; the Ally Online Savings product page lists a minimum opening deposit of US$0 and no monthly maintenance fee. This does not imply that all services are free; fees for other products, transactions, or special services should be checked in the applicable current disclosures. The website does not publish a guaranteed application approval timeframe. These figures reflect only the website pages reviewed for this check, and the Savings product page’s interest rate is variable and is not a long-term commitment in this field. Sources: s1, s2.

Limitations and practical considerations

  • The publicly stated account-opening requirements on the official website are U.S. residency, a U.S. street address, being at least 18 years old, and an SSN/TIN. Overseas nonresidents do not meet the published requirements; the website does not separately confirm the specific circumstances of non-U.S. citizens residing in the United States.
  • Ally does not currently offer business banking products or business/corporate trust accounts. Do not infer that a company can apply for a business account merely because its incorporation documents or beneficial ownership materials are complete.
  • Ally is an online bank with no physical branches; there is no publicly available evidence that it offers video witnessing, account opening from abroad, or third-party witnessing for applicants worldwide.
  • The Ally Savings Account allows 10 restricted withdrawals and transfers per statement cycle. The website says that exceeding the limit does not itself incur a fee, but repeated excess activity may result in account closure. This is a restriction on this savings product and should not be generalized to all accounts.
  • The standard FDIC coverage limit is up to US$250,000 per depositor, per insured bank, for each ownership category. Whether coverage is sufficient must be calculated based on all of the depositor’s accounts in each category.
  • The above is public eligibility and product information and does not represent bank channels that Rengangyongsheng (Hong Kong) Limited can currently arrange appointments for, submit applications to, or act as an agent for. The bank alone assesses eligibility and decides whether to approve an application.

Licensing evidence and regulatory verification

A specific entity record has been found, not just an entry point to a directory: the FDIC BankFind official institution API returns NAME=Ally Bank, ACTIVE=1, CHRTAGNT=STATE, BKCLASS=SM, STNAME=Utah, REGAGNT=FED, INSDATE=08/02/2004 for certificate number 57803. The API index date is 2026-10-23. The FDIC field guide states that ACTIVE=1 means the institution is currently operating and has FDIC-insured deposits, and that CERT is the FDIC institution identification/insurance certificate number. The FDIC defines BKCLASS=SM as a state-chartered commercial bank that is a Federal Reserve member, and REGAGNT=FED indicates the Federal Reserve. This record supports Ally Bank’s current status as an FDIC-insured deposit-taking institution and its regulatory classification. CERT 57803 should not be called a state bank license number. No specific authorization document was separately obtained from the Utah state regulator in this review; the specific terms of state-level authorization can still be confirmed in writing with the bank or state regulator.

Federal Reserve System (FDIC records identify FED as the primary federal regulator); Ally Bank is a Utah-chartered bank, and the FDIC provides deposit insurance. Official registration or record

Information sources

  1. Ally Bank — Opening an Account FAQs

    The official account-opening FAQ explicitly states that personal applicants must be U.S. residents, have a U.S. street address, and be at least 18 years old. A bank account can be opened using an SSN or TIN. The page lists personal products, online/phone application, and the approval email process, and states an account-opening fee of US$0 and no monthly service fee.

  2. Ally Bank — Ally Bank Savings Account

    The official savings account product page states a minimum opening deposit of US$0, no monthly maintenance fee, and a variable interest rate. It also describes 10 restricted withdrawals/transfers per statement cycle and the consequences of exceeding the limit.

  3. Ally Bank — Account Information FAQs

    Ally’s official FAQ explicitly states that it does not currently offer business banking products and explains that it is an online bank with no physical branches.

  4. FDIC BankFind Suite Institutions API — Ally Bank, Certificate 57803

    The official API actually returned the sole entity Ally Bank, CERT 57803, ACTIVE=1, CHRTAGNT=STATE, BKCLASS=SM, REGAGNT=FED, STNAME=Utah, INS date 08/02/2004; data indexed on 2026-10-23.

  5. FDIC BankFind Suite — Institution API Definitions

    The FDIC official field definitions explain that ACTIVE=1 means currently operating and holding FDIC-insured deposits; CERT is the FDIC institution identifier/insurance certificate number; CHRTAGNT is the chartering authority; the SM category for BKCLASS; and FED in the REGAGNT code means Federal Reserve. These fields can be used to distinguish an FDIC insurance certificate from a bank charter or regulatory classification.

  6. FinCEN — Information on Complying with the Customer Due Diligence Final Rule

    FinCEN lists four core U.S. CDD requirements, including identity verification, identification and verification of beneficial owners of legal entity customers, understanding the purpose of the customer relationship and developing a risk profile, and ongoing monitoring. It explains the general 25% ownership and control-person identification standards and lists the 2026 exception determination.

  7. FFIEC BSA/AML Examination Manual — Customer Identification Program

    The FFIEC manual of U.S. federal banking regulators specifies that banks’ CIP collects names, dates of birth for individuals, addresses, and identification numbers, and uses risk-based verification; it lists examples of commonly used documents, such as driver’s licenses and passports, and distinguishes general compliance baselines from Ally’s own document policies.

  8. U.S. Treasury OFAC — Additional Questions from Financial Institutions

    OFAC’s official FAQ for financial institutions explains that sanctions rules apply to transactions and that property involving sanctioned targets must be handled as required by law; there is no exemption based on transaction amount. It also clarifies that there is no blanket requirement to use software or conduct an immediate scan when an account is opened.

  9. OECD — AEOI Commitments, status as of 30 September 2026

    As of 2026-09-30, the OECD’s official commitment table lists jurisdictions undertaking first CRS exchanges; a footnote states that the United States has automatically exchanged information under FATCA since 2015.

  10. IRS — Instructions for the Requester of Form W-9

    Official IRS guidance states that Form W-9 is used to obtain a TIN and related certifications from U.S. persons, including resident aliens for tax purposes, and notes that some resident aliens for tax purposes may apply for an ITIN; this explains the U.S. tax identification baseline only and does not establish that Ally accepts every type of tax identification number or requires customers to submit Form W-9.

  11. Ally Bank — FDIC Insurance

    Ally’s official FDIC information states that standard coverage is up to US$250,000 per depositor, per insured depository institution, for each ownership category, and explains the applicable account scope and limitations.

  12. Ally Bank — Accounts for Trust FAQs

    Ally’s official trust FAQ lists application and trust-document information for personal trusts, explicitly states that it does not offer business or corporate trust accounts, and explains the submission methods available for certain eligible personal trust accounts.