Hong Kong & Overseas Bank Account OpeningCorporate / Personal Accounts · Digital Bank Appointments

Overseas banking/United States

AmericasUnited StatesLicensed-entity research

U.S. Bank National Association

The specific FDIC institution record lists U.S. Bank National Association as an insured national bank and identifies the OCC as its primary federal regulator. The bank’s personal checking webpage expressly permits online applications only from applicants who are at least 18 years old, are U.S. lawful residents, and provide an SSN. The bank has not publicly confirmed eligibility for nonresidents or foreign businesses to open accounts.

Regulator
Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC; the specific FDIC institution record lists it as the primary federal regulator)
Check date
2026-10-26
Verify status
Some information remains to be confirmed: The specific FDIC-insured depository institution record and the bank's public personal/business information pages have been checked. Personal online application conditions explicitly cover only lawful US residents. There is still insufficient public evidence concerning branch account opening for foreign individuals, eligibility for foreign companies and non-resident persons in charge, complete entity documents, remote account opening/witnessing and the full current fee schedule. Each item requires written confirmation from the bank. The candidate list does not constitute a commitment to acceptance or channel availability.

Research scope and official resources

Topic number:americas-us-bank-na

From the Americas candidate mapping in the public major-institution screening used for selection.json, for 2025/2026; the screening record maps a group-level candidate to U.S. Bank National Association. This information does not claim a separate ranking for the bank entity. The candidate set is not a real-time top 100, licensing determination or promise of account-opening acceptance.

Bank’s official website

Personal Eligibility and Documents

The publicly stated requirements on the official website for applying online for a personal checking account are that the applicant must be at least 18 years old, be a legal U.S. resident, and provide a Social Security number (SSN). The page also states that, once approved, an opening deposit of at least 25 dollars is required to activate the account. The page allows applications at a U.S. Bank branch and requires valid government-issued identification, but does not confirm whether non-U.S. residents can open an account in a branch, whether an ITIN can replace an individual SSN, or which immigration/residency statuses or foreign address arrangements are accepted. Thus, there is an explicit public basis for resident online eligibility; nonresidents and remote applications from abroad must be confirmed in writing with the bank. The branch option does not establish that such applications will be accepted.

Personal information publicly disclosed or identified

  • The official website explicitly states that an SSN is required for an online personal checking account application. Online applicants must be at least 18 years old and legal U.S. residents.
  • The official website explicitly states that applications at a branch require valid government-issued identification. The page does not list a complete set of acceptable identity documents or proof-of-address documents.
  • General preparation suggestions (not U.S. Bank's policy): Prepare a passport/government-issued proof of identity, current residential address information and applicable U.S. tax status information; first confirm with the specific branch whether non-residents may apply and which alternative tax numbers and supporting documents it accepts.

Company eligibility and documents

U.S. Bank's business account document checklist publicly lists a Business Taxpayer Identification Number, which may be an SSN, ITIN, or EIN; government-issued identification may be required, and use of a DBA name requires proof of that name. The public checklist does not state whether foreign-incorporated companies, non-U.S.-resident applicants/beneficial owners, foreign business addresses, or specific company types are eligible, nor does it provide complete entity eligibility rules. U.S.-incorporated companies and applicants meeting other conditions must still pass the bank's review; eligibility for foreign companies and non-resident principals must be confirmed with the bank case by case. The tax ID options on the checklist must not be interpreted as a promise that foreign companies can open accounts.

Company information publicly disclosed or identified

  • The official checklist explicitly requires a business taxpayer identification number, which may be an SSN, ITIN, or EIN.
  • The official checklist explicitly states that government-issued identification may be required, giving a driver's license, state ID, or U.S. passport as examples. If using a DBA name, provide legal proof of that name.
  • General preparation suggestion (not a verified mandatory list published by U.S. Bank): Prepare registration/formation documents according to the company type, articles of incorporation or operating agreement, proof of business/registered address, an authorization resolution for opening the account, identity details for controlling persons and beneficial owners, and materials explaining the source of funds and expected account purpose. Request the complete checklist for that entity type from the bank.

Address, tax, and remote / witnessed procedures

Address and tax

The personal online checking page requires an SSN and limits eligibility to legal U.S. residents; it does not publicly specify the required format for proof of address or requirements concerning foreign tax identification numbers or declarations of foreign tax residency. The business account checklist lists an SSN, ITIN, or EIN as available Business TIN options, but does not explain EIN application or account-opening rules for foreign-registered entities. IRS Form W-9 is used by people who need to submit information returns to the IRS to provide the correct TIN; Form W-8BEN applies when a foreign individual is the beneficial owner of amounts subject to withholding and is submitted at the request of the payer/withholding agent. These IRS form instructions do not mean that these forms are invariably required as proof when opening a U.S. Bank account. The bank should confirm the applicant’s U.S. tax status, tax-residency status, and required forms based on the applicant’s circumstances; do not describe the United States as a CRS participant or assume that other tax-treaty or reporting requirements automatically apply.

Remote / witnessing

The official website allows eligible U.S. legal residents to apply online for a personal checking account and also directs customers to visit a branch. The materials reviewed do not explain video identity verification, remote notarization, third-party witnessing, or end-to-end remote account opening for overseas applicants. The online application option does not establish that global remote account opening or witnessing services are available.

Public process reference

  1. Personal: First select a specific checking product. Applicants who meet the online requirements on the official website can apply online and provide an SSN; if approved, fund and activate the account as required by that product. The official website says the application takes only a few minutes, but does not specify an approval or account-opening completion timeframe.
  2. Personal in-branch application: Apply at a U.S. Bank branch and bring valid government-issued identification; the official website recommends calling in advance to confirm the required documents. This process does not confirm eligibility for non-resident applicants.
  3. Businesses: First confirm the specific business checking product and the applicant entity's eligibility. Prepare the Business TIN, any government-issued identification that may be required, and proof of the DBA name, if applicable, in accordance with the published list. Confirm with the bank the full requirements for business type, controllers, and overseas applicants.

Compliance topics, details, and sources

U.S. AML/KYC and Ongoing Due Diligence

FinCEN's Customer Due Diligence Rule requires covered financial institutions to identify and verify customer identities, understand the nature and purpose of customer relationships to develop a risk profile, and conduct risk-based ongoing monitoring, update customer information, and identify suspicious activity. This is the U.S. regulatory baseline; the public materials reviewed do not disclose a complete list of specific requirements for the applicant in this case at U.S. Bank.

Corporate UBOs, controllers and source of funds

FinCEN rules for beneficial ownership due diligence on newly opened legal-entity customer accounts include identifying and verifying natural persons who own 25% or more of the equity, as well as a natural person who controls the legal entity, and conducting ongoing due diligence based on the customer relationship's risk. Banks may ask about source of funds and anticipated transactions based on risk. The materials reviewed do not establish that U.S. Bank uniformly requires a specific source-of-funds document from every applicant; the bank should confirm the specific evidence required.

Distinguishing tax status, FATCA, and CRS

U.S. tax forms apply according to tax status and payment/reporting circumstances: Form W-9 is used to provide a TIN; a foreign individual submits Form W-8BEN only if they are the beneficial owner of relevant withholding payments and the payer/withholding agent requests it. The IRS explains that FATCA primarily concerns reporting obligations of foreign financial institutions and certain foreign entities regarding their U.S. account holders, among others. The OECD page lists activated CRS automatic exchange relationships; this does not establish that the United States participates in CRS, either by itself or based on the account’s location. The specific tax forms, non-U.S. tax identification numbers, and reporting methods required to open a bank account have not been publicly confirmed.

U.S. Sanctions Screening

The U.S. Department of the Treasury’s OFAC administers and enforces U.S. economic and trade sanctions. Specific prohibitions vary by sanctions program. Transactions involving U.S. jurisdiction, blocked property, or relevant persons/entities must be assessed under the applicable program; banks may screen them in accordance with laws and their risk policies. This is a jurisdictional compliance baseline, not a case-specific conclusion about any individual or business.

FDIC Deposit Coverage

The FDIC explains that checking, savings, money market deposit accounts, and time deposits at insured depository institutions fall within the scope of its traditional deposit insurance, which applies automatically when an eligible insured deposit account is opened; investment products and insurance products are not covered by FDIC deposit insurance. Account classification and coverage attribution must be verified according to the account ownership category and applicable rules. This material does not promise coverage of a specific amount.

Compliance evidence

Account-opening compliance and supporting-document checklist

The bank’s stated requirements, local regulations, and preparation recommendations are presented separately. Acceptance in a specific case is subject to confirmation by the bank.

This supplement focuses on the publicly available U.S. Bank business checking application list, business information change guidance, and applicable U.S. CDD rules. It does not apply conditions of other group entities or products to this bank. Public pages list a business tax identification number, government-issued identification that may be required, and DBA documentation, but do not confirm eligibility for foreign-registered businesses, non-U.S.-resident officers, or applications with foreign addresses. The bank must first confirm the scope of applications it accepts.

Date information checked:2026-10-26

Information evidence package

Company legal identity, tax identification number, and trade name

Who it applies to
Companies, partnerships, or sole proprietors intending to apply for a business account; this does not mean that foreign entities are permitted to apply.
Documents to Prepare
  • Business TINs expressly listed by the bank: one of SSN, ITIN, or EIN. First confirm which one the entity should use.
  • Government-issued identification may be required; the bank gives examples including a driver’s licence, state ID, or U.S. passport.
  • If using a DBA, prepare documents evidencing the trade name. It is also advisable to have registration/incorporation documents, articles or an operating agreement, and business address information ready; the latter items have not been confirmed as mandatory on this list.
Description
The bank’s published list specifies only the categories above; it does not state whether foreign documents must be originals, certified copies, authenticated or translated, nor does it publish document validity standards. Confirm these with the account opening team.

Ownership and control chain, beneficial owners, and account-opening authority

Who it applies to
Corporate customers and persons applying on behalf of a corporate entity; FinCEN rules apply only to covered financial institutions and corporate customers within their defined scope.
Documents to Prepare
  • It is advisable to prepare an ownership chart showing the ultimate ownership percentages of natural persons at each level, the shareholder/member register, and details of intermediary entities to explain direct and indirect ownership.
  • Prepare the names, dates of birth, addresses, and SSNs or government-issued identification numbers of foreign persons that meet the CDD information requirements; also identify one individual with significant responsibility for managing or controlling the business.
  • It is advisable to prepare proof of authorization for the applicant’s representative or a director/member resolution, and verify that the person signing the form is authorized to represent the entity. The public checklist does not confirm that these documents are mandatory for every entity type.
Description
The above identity information and beneficial owner identification fall within the scope of U.S. CDD rules. The bank's procedures determine the specific verification method, forms, and whether originals or copies must be submitted.

Business substance, expected account use and explanation of incoming funds

Who it applies to
Applicants intending to open a business account; the following documents are preparation suggestions, not a verified fixed submission checklist from U.S. Bank.
Documents to Prepare
  • Prepare a one-page summary of the main business, customer and supplier types, principal place of business and account-opening purpose, and have contracts, orders, invoices or a website/product description available as supporting evidence.
  • List expected monthly deposits, payments, cash usage and international payments and receipts, as well as main currencies, countries/regions and types of counterparties. Explain in advance any transactions disproportionate to the scale of the business.
  • Prepare traceable evidence of the source of the initial deposit, such as records of business income, shareholder contributions, or recent bank statements. If the source of wealth is complex, prepare a brief explanation of the flow of funds.
Description
FinCEN requires covered institutions to understand the nature and purpose of customer relationships and develop risk profiles, but the FAQs state that collecting specific information, such as anticipated activity, is not required uniformly for all customers; banks may request additional materials based on risk.

Due diligence and enhanced verification

Identification of corporate beneficial owners and controllers

Basis for Verification
The baseline under the FinCEN CDD Rule is to identify and verify natural persons who directly or indirectly hold 25% or more of the ownership interests in a legal entity customer, as well as one natural person with significant managerial or control responsibility. An FAQ updated by FinCEN in 2026 explains that covered institutions may decide whether to follow the 2026 account-opening relief order: if they choose to apply it, they may identify and verify at initial account opening, when there is reasonable doubt about the reliability of existing beneficial ownership information, and when required for risk-based ongoing due diligence; banks may also continue collecting information at every new account opening.
Preparation recommendation
Organize the ownership chain needed to calculate indirect ownership, and have the representative confirm the ultimate individual rather than a nominee. Ask the bank whether it applies this exception and which documents must be resubmitted when opening additional accounts.
Scope
U.S. federal CDD rules and official FinCEN interpretation; applicable only to institutions/customers covered by the rules. This cannot be generalized as a universal global threshold or as a process that U.S. Bank has publicly chosen to use.

Government BOI filings must not be conflated with bank CDD documentation

Basis for Verification
The U.S. Bank materials reviewed for this research do not state that a business’s government BOI reporting status can substitute for the bank’s account-opening due diligence. FinCEN CDD imposes separate requirements on covered financial institutions concerning customer identity, beneficial owners, and risk profiling of customer relationships. Whether a company has filed BOI information with the government, or qualifies for a reporting exemption, is not by itself grounds to assume that the bank will not ask about beneficial owners.
Preparation recommendation
Prepare the control chain and personal identity information directly in the bank’s forms; if public registry information differs from the application form, ownership chart or government filing records, it is advisable to have explanations and supporting documents ready.
Scope
Prudent preparation guidance for handling bank CDD separately from government reporting by businesses; this is not a legal conclusion on current CTA/BOI filing obligations or eligibility for a particular business exemption.

Transaction nature, source of funds and risk-based review

Basis for Verification
FinCEN requires covered institutions to understand the nature and purpose of customer relationships, develop risk profiles, and conduct risk-based ongoing monitoring. The rules do not mean every customer must provide the same source-of-wealth evidence, nor do they prescribe a standardized document checklist for U.S. Bank to use for a particular industry.
Preparation recommendation
It is advisable to prepare a verifiable explanation of the intended account use, source of the initial deposit, key counterparties, and cross-border payment routes, and ensure that contracts, invoices, or statements match the stated scale.
Scope
Regulatory baseline plus general preparation recommendations; this is not a list expressly published by U.S. Bank and does not establish its industry acceptance or risk appetite.

Bank-specific confirmation of tax status, PEP, and sanctions screening

Basis for Verification
The bank pages reviewed do not publicly explain foreign tax residency forms, PEP review thresholds, sanctions screening procedures or supplemental-document requirements; do not infer that the bank does not screen, or equate PEP status with being a sanctioned person or automatic rejection.
Preparation recommendation
It is advisable to truthfully prepare the entity’s and relevant individuals’ tax residences, TINs, and actual control details. If a government position, a possible sanctions-list match, or a sensitive jurisdiction is involved, ask the bank in advance what explanations and documents are required. Do not substitute an unconfirmed W-8/W-9 form for the bank’s guidance.
Scope
This describes only the disclosure limits of the public materials reviewed for this inquiry and prudent preparation recommendations; it is not an explicit bank requirement or a legal conclusion for an individual case.

Ongoing maintenance obligations

Notification of changes to business information

U.S. Bank's official guidance states that business email and phone number can be updated on the business online banking profile page of the full website; changes to business address, legal entity type, or DBA information should be reported by calling 800-673-3555. The page does not specify a notice deadline, required proof, or effective date; businesses should contact the bank promptly and retain the bank's confirmation and copies of documents submitted.

Account transaction monitoring and due diligence document updates

FinCEN requires covered financial institutions to conduct risk-based ongoing monitoring to identify and report suspicious transactions and maintain and update customer information based on risk; it does not prescribe a uniform review schedule for all customers. Customers should retain business, contract, invoice, and funds-flow records, and be prepared to explain transactions that differ from the account-opening description or changes in control, and to respond to bank inquiries. This is not a promise of a fixed schedule by the bank.

Review of beneficial owner information when adding an account

The 2026 FinCEN account-opening exception provides covered institutions with an option, not a requirement to adopt it. A bank may choose to collect beneficial ownership information again for every new account opening, or verify it at initial account opening, when there is reasonable doubt about the reliability of the information, or when required for risk-based ongoing due diligence. Businesses should update the bank’s records when ownership or control persons change and confirm the bank’s specific procedures; the regulation page does not specify U.S. Bank’s review frequency.

Please confirm with the bank before booking

  1. Does U.S. Bank currently accept this company's place of incorporation, place of business, and company type? Can applicants, controllers, or UBOs who do not reside in the U.S. apply, and is a U.S. entity or business address required?
  2. What is the complete document checklist for this type of company? Must registration documents, authorisation documents, and foreign identity documents be originals, certified/authenticated copies, or translated into English, and what validity requirements apply to identity documents?
  3. What ownership tiers and controllers must beneficial owners disclose? Does the bank apply the FinCEN 2026 account-opening exception, and does it repeat verification when other accounts are opened later?
  4. When opening an account, must you provide evidence of expected transactions, the source of initial funds, source of wealth, or principal counterparties? Are there additional documents or business restrictions for cross-border payments?
  5. Which US or foreign tax-status forms must businesses and related individuals complete? Confirm based on the applicant's specific status; do not assume that W-8 or W-9 must be submitted.
  6. After account opening, how should changes to the address, legal entity type, DBA, ownership/controllers, email, or telephone number be reported? Are there deadlines, supporting documents, and periodic review arrangements?

Not confirmed by public information

  • The reviewed checklist does not confirm eligibility for foreign-registered companies, overseas business addresses, or applicants/UBOs residing outside the United States. The availability of online or in-branch applications does not mean such applications are accepted.
  • The list reviewed does not include a complete matrix of documents by company type and does not disclose rules for certifying overseas documents, translations, originals or the validity periods of identification documents.
  • Non-U.S. tax status forms, PEP/sanctions screening procedures, source-of-funds documents, enhanced due diligence triggers and internal risk limits have not been made public; confirm each case with the bank.
  • The information reviewed did not fully confirm business account approval times, subsequent document review intervals, currently applicable fees or specific application channels. Do not infer a fixed timeline or approval outcome.

Sources & Scope of Verification

  1. U.S. Bank — Business checking account application requirements checklist

    The bank list actually reviewed states that a Business TIN may be an SSN, ITIN, or EIN; government-issued identification may be required, with a driver’s license, state ID, or U.S. passport given as examples; and use of a DBA requires proof of that name. Eligibility for foreign entities to open accounts was not confirmed, nor were complete entity-document, certification, or translation requirements listed.

  2. U.S. Bank — How do I update my business profile?

    I reviewed the bank’s customer service page, which says that business email and phone details can be updated through the business online banking profile page on the full website. Changes to business address, legal entity, or DBA information can be made by calling 800-673-3555. It does not specify notification deadlines, document requirements, or review frequency.

  3. FinCEN — Information on Complying with the Customer Due Diligence Final Rule

    FinCEN explains the core CDD requirements for covered financial institutions: identifying and verifying customers and beneficial owners of legal entities, understanding the nature and purpose of relationships to develop risk profiles, and conducting ongoing monitoring and maintaining and updating customer information based on risk. It lists the 25% ownership and control-person standards and entry to the 2026 account-opening exception order.

  4. FinCEN — CDD Rule FAQs

    The page actually reviewed shows the FAQ was updated on 2026-05-06 and explains that the 2026-02-13 account-opening exemption order is optional for financial institutions to apply; it describes beneficial ownership of 25% and one person with control, identity information items, risk-based ongoing due diligence, and that expected activity information is not collected from all customers as a matter of course.

Fees and timelines

As of 2026-10-26, the personal checking product page reviewed listed a minimum opening deposit of 25 US dollars for Bank Smartly Checking. The page also listed a monthly maintenance fee of 12 US dollars and stated that it may be waived subject to the conditions described on the page. These figures apply only to the product and terms described on that page and should not be applied to all accounts. The page says the online application process takes a few minutes, but does not publish an approval/completion time. The eligibility period for the promotion shown on the business checking page was 2026-07-01 to 2026-09-27, and had ended by the date checked. It should not be treated as a current offer or as a basis for current account fees/minimum balances. Current business account fees, non-resident fees, international wire transfer fees, and a uniform approval time could not be found; each must be confirmed in writing for the specific product.

Limitations and practical considerations

  • Published eligibility for personal online checking is limited to applicants aged 18 or older who are legal US residents and provide an SSN. The official website does not confirm eligibility for non-residents applying at a branch or substitution of a foreign tax number.
  • The commercial checklist lists TIN categories but does not publicly confirm eligibility for applications by foreign companies, nonresident owners, applicants with overseas addresses or beneficial owners.
  • There is no evidence that the bank offers overseas customers worldwide video account opening, remote witnessing or third-party notarization services.
  • FDIC-insured depository institution status does not guarantee approval of any specific product, applicant, industry or jurisdiction. Fees and account-opening requirements should be confirmed for the specific product and based on the bank’s current review.
  • The public website and regulatory information cited here are for research only; they do not indicate that Rengangyongsheng currently offers an appointment channel, has a partnership, or has committed to accept applications.

Licensing evidence and regulatory verification

A specific entity record has been found: the FDIC BankFind institution detail directly identifies U.S. Bank National Association and shows FDIC Certificate number 6548, insured-depository-institution status, deposit-insurance status since 1934-01-01, National Banks and Federal Reserve System membership, the OCC as its primary federal regulator, and OCC charter number 24. The page’s data is current through 2026-10-02. This is a regulatory/insured-depository-institution record for this legal bank entity, not merely an entry point to a directory. It does not claim that the entity holds a separate license in another jurisdiction or that any particular product is open to non-residents or foreign companies.

Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC; the specific FDIC institution record lists it as the primary federal regulator) Official registration or record

Information sources

  1. U.S. Bank — Checking accounts: Open online

    The page actually states that online applications for personal checking accounts are only for legal U.S. residents aged 18 or older and require an SSN. It describes the minimum opening deposit after approval, the option to apply at a branch, and valid government-issued ID requirements, and lists product fee information for Bank Smartly Checking.

  2. U.S. Bank — Business checking account application requirements checklist

    The page lists Business TIN types (SSN, ITIN, EIN), examples of government-issued identity documents that may be required, and the requirement for legal proof when using a DBA name; it does not state that foreign entities can open accounts.

  3. U.S. Bank — Open a Business Checking Account

    The commercial product page accessed shows a special-offer eligibility period from 2026-07-01 to 2026-09-27 and states that account opening is subject to the general account-opening procedures. Since the eligibility period had ended by the review date, this report does not treat the offer as a current rate or acceptance condition.

  4. FDIC BankFind Suite — U.S. Bank National Association institution details

    The specific institution details page (data as of 2026-10-02) records U.S. Bank National Association, FDIC Cert 6548, insured deposit status, national bank category, the OCC as primary federal regulator, and OCC charter number 24.

  5. FinCEN — Information on Complying with the Customer Due Diligence Final Rule

    Explains the customer-identification, legal-entity beneficial-owner identification/verification, customer-relationship risk-profiling, ongoing-monitoring, and information-update requirements applicable to U.S. financial institutions, and describes the 25% ownership and control-person standards.

  6. Internal Revenue Service — About Form W-9

    The IRS states that Form W-9 is used to provide a correct taxpayer identification number to a payer/filer required to file an information return.

  7. Internal Revenue Service — About Form W-8 BEN

    The IRS states that a foreign individual submits Form W-8BEN at the request of the withholding agent/payer when the individual is the beneficial owner of relevant amounts subject to withholding; the page does not define it as a general document required for all bank account applications.

  8. Internal Revenue Service — Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act FATCA

    The IRS introduces the FATCA reporting framework for foreign financial institutions and certain foreign entities regarding U.S. account holders, along with resources for relevant institutions.

  9. OECD — Automatic Exchange of Information: Activated Exchange Relationships

    The OECD explains that this page shows currently activated bilateral relationships for the automatic exchange of financial account information under CRS and their legal basis; it is used to distinguish CRS relationships from the US FATCA regime and does not claim that the United States has joined CRS.

  10. U.S. Treasury OFAC — Basic Information on OFAC and Sanctions FAQs

    The U.S. Department of the Treasury explains OFAC’s sanctions administration responsibilities, differences between sanctions measures by program, blocked-property rules, and the persons to whom they apply.

  11. FDIC — Deposit Insurance

    The FDIC explains the insurance coverage for traditional deposit account types, the general automatic coverage of insured deposit accounts, that non-deposit financial products are not FDIC-insured, and how to check whether an institution is insured.