Hong Kong & Overseas Bank Account OpeningCorporate / Personal Accounts · Digital Bank Appointments

Overseas banking/Brazil

AmericasBrazilLicensed-entity research

Itaú Unibanco S.A.

Itaú Unibanco S.A. is listed as a Banco Múltiplo in the Brazilian Central Bank's current list of operating banks, and the listed record matches the official website's domain. (s3) Itaú's official website publishes application processes for personal current accounts and PJ business accounts in Brazil, but does not publicly confirm that foreign non-resident individuals or foreign-incorporated companies may apply. It therefore cannot be concluded from this that the bank accepts either type of application. (s1, s2)

Regulator
Central Bank of Brazil (Banco Central do Brasil, BCB)
Check date
2026-10-26
Verify status
Some information remains to be confirmed: The Central Bank of Brazil’s current operating banks OData record was used to verify the legal name Itaú Unibanco S.A. and its Banco Múltiplo category, and the publicly available personal and business procedures on the bank’s website were checked. The website does not confirm eligibility for non-resident individuals abroad, foreign-incorporated companies, or remote processing from abroad. A verified entity or an individual publicly listed product must not be misrepresented as a commitment to accept all applicants.

Research scope and official resources

Topic number:americas-itau-unibanco-sa

The source candidate record lists it as a selected large Brazilian bank under the 2025 Latin America Top 200 framework in The Banker (Tier 1 capital measure); no specific ranking for Itaú is claimed. This candidate list is used only to select research subjects; it does not represent facts about licensing or account acceptance and is not a current global top 100 ranking. (s13)

Bank’s official website

Personal Eligibility and Documents

Itaú publicly offers personal current account applications. Mobile account opening is limited to individual accounts in one person's name and personal salary accounts; applications can also be made at a branch. Eligibility, application channels, and documents are subject to the bank's published guidance. (s1) The official website lists photo identification such as RG, CNH, or RNE, but does not specify account-opening eligibility for foreign nationals, foreign nationals residing in Brazil, or non-residents abroad. It also does not state which current foreign identity documents may substitute for an RNE. Listing RNE does not establish that applicants holding only a passport or located outside Brazil will be accepted. Itaú separately describes representative and custody services for non-resident investors in the Brazilian market; these are investor services, not evidence of eligibility for an ordinary current account. (s12)

Personal information publicly disclosed or identified

  • Photo identification listed on Itaú's personal current account page: RG, CNH, or RNE. The page does not list passports or confirm acceptable substitute documents for applicants abroad. (s1)
  • The mobile application process requires submitting two selfies and photographs of the required documents through the Itaú Abreconta app; the mobile process is limited to individual accounts in a single person’s name and personal salary accounts. (s1)
  • Branch applications also require proof of address, such as a water, electricity, telephone or gas bill, issued within the past 180 days; proof of income is recommended and should be dated within the past 60 days. (s1)
  • The official website does not publicly specify a dedicated document list for nonresidents overseas, formats for overseas proof of address, evidence of foreign tax identification numbers, whether passports are accepted, or translation/certification requirements. These should not be treated as confirmed bank policies.

Company eligibility and documents

Itaú's official website provides an application page for PJ business accounts. The published process requires entering a CPF and CNPJ, providing company information, completing facial identity verification, uploading the company's articles of association if there are multiple shareholders, and then choosing a plan and completing the application. (s2) The page does not clearly specify which foreign-incorporated companies, non-resident shareholders, or overseas ultimate controllers are eligible, nor does it publish separate acceptance conditions for foreign legal entities. Do not infer from this online PJ process alone that foreign companies or all their shareholders can open an account remotely.

Company information publicly disclosed or identified

  • The application process on Itaú PJ's page requires entering a CPF and CNPJ and providing company information. (s2)
  • The page requires completion of facial identity verification; where there are multiple shareholders, attach the articles of association/organizational document (contrato social). (s2)
  • The page does not provide a complete list of all company documents, proof of company address, director/signatory identity documents, ultimate beneficial owner evidence, source-of-funds materials or documents for foreign-registered companies. If preparing these materials in advance, label them as general compliance preparation suggestions, not document policies publicly confirmed by the bank.

Address, tax, and remote / witnessed procedures

Address and tax

The Itaú page for personal account applications at a branch requires proof of a Brazilian address, giving utility, telephone, or gas bills dated no more than 180 days ago as examples; the mobile account-opening page does not list proof-of-address requirements, which does not establish that non-residents need no address documentation. (s1) Itaú’s business application page expressly requires a CPF and CNPJ. (s2) Brazil’s Receita Federal says that a CPF can be registered by Brazilian or foreign citizens in Brazil or abroad; this only describes eligibility to apply for a tax number and does not mean the bank confirms that non-residents can open an account or need no other tax documents. (s5) CPF is the Brazilian personal identification number, and CNPJ is the business registration/tax identification number. The official website does not publish an account-opening document checklist for overseas proof of address, foreign tax identification numbers, or tax-residency self-certification. As a general compliance preparation measure, applicants may prepare details of their actual tax-residence jurisdiction and its TIN, but this should not be presented as an account-opening requirement specified on Itaú’s page.

Remote / witnessing

The digital application described on the official website includes a selfie and photos of identity documents; the corporate PJ process includes facial identity verification. There is also an in-branch application channel, and the personal account page mentions a WhatsApp application option. (s1、s2) There is no evidence that the digital process is available to applicants located outside Brazil, and no public confirmation of global video account opening, third-party witnessing, notarization, or arrangements for applying at overseas branches. These options must be confirmed in writing directly with the bank.

Public process reference

  1. Personal accounts: Apply through the Itaú mobile app or at a branch, as specified on the official website. The mobile process is available only for individual accounts in one person’s name and personal salary accounts; applicants must submit two selfies and photograph their identity documents. Branch applications require the documents listed on the official website, and all holders of a joint account must visit the branch. (s1)
  2. Business PJ account: Enter the CPF and CNPJ on the application page, fill in the business details and complete facial verification; if there are multiple shareholders, upload the company’s articles of association; select an account plan and complete the application. (s2)
  3. If the applicant is a foreign national, a nonresident outside Brazil or a foreign-registered company, confirm with the bank before applying the applicant’s eligibility, acceptable current identity documents, CPF/CNPJ and foreign tax number requirements, overseas address documents, and application location/remote process. These conditions are not set out on the public page, and its general steps should not be understood as a commitment to accept applications.
  4. Itaú's representative/custody services for non-resident investors are described only as services for non-residents wishing to operate in the Brazilian market; they are not account-opening steps or evidence of eligibility for an ordinary personal transaction account. (s12)

Compliance topics, details, and sources

Brazil AML/KYC and customer identification

Brazilian Law No. 9.613/1998 brings the relevant financial activities within anti-money-laundering control obligations. BCB Circular 3.978/2020 requires institutions authorised and supervised by the BCB to adopt anti-money-laundering/counter-terrorist-financing policies, procedures and internal controls. Applicants should expect banks to verify identity, the purpose of the business/account and necessary information based on risk assessment. The specific supplementary documents for Itaú's due diligence of this kind are not fully listed on its account-opening pages. (s6, s7)

Beneficial owners, corporate control structure, and source of funds

Brazil's AML law and BCB anti-money-laundering rules form the baseline for customer identification and risk controls. Corporate applicants should prepare accurate information on the company's control structure/ultimate beneficial owners, a description of business activities and source-of-funds documents for the bank's review under applicable rules and risk assessment. This is general compliance preparation; it does not mean that Itaú has published a specific UBO document checklist or account eligibility criteria. (s6, s7)

Tax residency, CRS and FATCA

OECD CRS MCAA signatory lists and automatic exchange relationship information are used to distinguish the CRS framework from specific activated bilateral exchange relationships; whether an account is reported and where it is exchanged depends on applicable rules, the account holder’s tax residence, and activated relationships, and cannot be asserted to mean automatic exchange with any jurisdiction. Brazil and the United States also have a FATCA intergovernmental agreement, published by Brazilian Decree No. 8.506/2015; this is a bilateral FATCA arrangement and does not mean that the United States participates in CRS. Applicants should truthfully declare their actual tax residence and applicable TIN; the self-certification form required by Itaú’s personal/business account opening pages was not verified in this review. (s8, s9, s10)

UN Security Council sanctions and asset freezes

Brazilian Law No. 13.810/2019 provides for the implementation of United Nations Security Council sanctions resolutions, including measures preventing the disposal of assets belonging to sanctioned individuals, legal entities, or other entities. Article 9 requires institutions subject to AML regulations to comply promptly with the relevant asset-freezing requirements under regulatory rules. Account applications and ongoing relationships may be subject to lawful sanctions screening. This is a regulatory baseline for the jurisdiction, not a screening result for any particular applicant. (s11, s7)

Compliance evidence

Account-opening compliance and supporting-document checklist

The bank’s stated requirements, local regulations, and preparation recommendations are presented separately. Acceptance in a specific case is subject to confirmation by the bank.

The subject is the locally operating Brazilian bank Itaú Unibanco S.A. Itaú’s website publishes application processes for personal current accounts and business PJ accounts, but these do not confirm eligibility for non-resident individuals abroad or foreign-incorporated companies. This guide describes evidence that can be prepared based on public information and the Brazilian regulatory due diligence baseline; it is not a promise that the bank will accept an application, open an account or handle the process cross-border.

Date information checked:2026-10-26

Information evidence package

Personal identity, place of residence and tax status

Who it applies to
Applicants who are local individuals in Brazil; non-resident and foreign applicants should confirm eligibility first
Documents to Prepare
  • Itaú's personal account page lists RG, CNH, or RNE with a photograph. Mobile applications are limited to individual accounts in one person's name or personal salary accounts and require two selfies and photographs of identification documents. The page does not list passports or confirm which documents can be used for applications from abroad.
  • For an in-branch application, the bank lists water, electricity, telephone or gas bills as proof of address, dated within 180 days. Proof of income is recommended, dated within 60 days. You may also prepare a recent document showing your actual residential address for the bank to confirm; this list should not be extrapolated as a standard for non-residents.
  • Under Brazilian Central Bank Circular 3.978/2020, for foreign individuals who are not legally required to register for a CPF, regulatory rules allow banks to collect the issuing country, number, and type of travel document. This is identity data for a specific statutory circumstance; it does not mean Itaú will accept the application or waive other checks.
Description
Identity documents, proof of address, timeframe, and selfie are part of the publicly described personal application process in Brazil; requirements for foreign documents, translation/certification of proof of address, and original versus certified copies have not been published. Central bank regulations specify information that institutions must collect and verify; they do not prescribe Itaú’s specific upload formats.

Company entity, authorized persons and ownership/control chain

Who it applies to
Applicants with Brazilian PJ status; acceptance of foreign-registered companies not published
Documents to Prepare
  • Itaú's business page publishes steps requiring a CPF and CNPJ, company information, and facial identity verification; if there are multiple shareholders, the company's articles of association (contrato social) must be uploaded. First prepare current company registration and articles of association documents as required by the page.
  • For review preparation, rather than as a list published by Itaú, you may compile the company’s registration certificate, latest articles of association and amendments, the basis for directors’/signatories’ authority, and an ownership structure chart showing each level through to the natural person ultimate controllers. Also prepare identity and address documents for the relevant individuals so the bank can verify them.
  • For a foreign legal entity that is not legally required to register for a CNPJ, Central Bank rules require identification data to include at least the company name, registered address and company identification/registration number in its country of origin. This regulatory minimum does not prove that the bank accepts foreign legal entities.
Description
Facial verification and uploading the articles of association when there are multiple shareholders are part of the bank’s published process. Ownership charts, registration documents, proof of authorization and beneficial-owner identity documents are preparation suggestions based on regulatory due diligence, not a confirmed complete document list from Itaú. Ask about translations, notarization, authentication, signature format and document validity on a case-by-case basis.

Business purpose, financial capacity and evidence of source of funds

Who it applies to
Individual and business applicants; provide additional information based on the application business and risk.
Documents to Prepare
  • Individuals may compile proof of income, payslips, or tax/asset information, and explain the intended account use, main sources of deposits, average monthly amounts, and usual counterparties; businesses may compile recent financial statements, business/tax documents, contracts with key customers and suppliers, and expected payment flows. These are reasonable preparation suggestions and do not represent all documents expressly stated by the bank as mandatory.
  • For large or cross-border funds, prepare documents based on the actual flow of funds, such as contracts, invoices, bank statements, loan/investment documents, asset sale evidence, and an explanation of the relationship between the payer and applicant, so the amounts, timing, and counterparties can be corroborated.
  • The Central Bank of Brazil requires banks to collect and verify customer information based on customer risk and the business relationship, and to assess an individual’s place of residence and financial capacity or a legal entity’s location, turnover, and financial capacity. The depth of verification depends on the risk assessment; the regulations do not publicly prescribe a fixed income threshold or document format for this bank.
Description
The above financial and source-of-funds evidence is suggested preparation for applicants. The Itaú account-opening page reviewed does not publish a specific source-of-funds document list or bank limits. Before submitting, follow the bank's requirements for the specific account purpose.

Due diligence and enhanced verification

Ultimate beneficial owners, actual control, and authorisation relationships

Basis for Verification
Article 24 of Brazil's Central Bank Circular 3.978 requires institutions to analyse a legal entity's ownership chain to identify natural-person beneficial owners. Representatives, agents or trustees who actually control the legal entity's activities may also be included. The regulation lists exceptions for certain categories; identification is not conducted in the same way for every entity. Itaú's public account-opening page does not specify its UBO document checklist or internal percentage threshold.
Preparation recommendation
Provide a tier-by-tier ownership chart, registration documents for each tier, the basis for individual ownership/control, company authorization documents, and an explanation of control if no individual shareholder can be identified. Documents should cover direct and indirect ownership and actual control; do not apply a single global ownership percentage.
Scope
Local regulatory baseline; the document package is general preparation advice. Itaú’s specific acceptance requirements are not public.

Alignment of Source of Funds, Source of Wealth, and Anticipated Transactions

Basis for Verification
Regulations require customer eligibility information to be collected and verified according to customer risk and the business relationship, and financial capacity to be assessed. Transaction monitoring considers transaction value, related parties, economic or legal rationale, and whether transactions are consistent with an individual's income or a company's turnover and asset capacity. Itaú has not published document thresholds for each account type.
Preparation recommendation
It is advisable to prepare evidence of income/revenue or assets, together with contracts, invoices, payroll/dividend records, loan or investment documents that can be traced back to the paying account. Also include a brief explanation of the anticipated transaction frequency, amounts, countries/regions, and main counterparties, so unusual transactions can be explained if they arise.
Scope
Local regulations require banks to conduct risk-based identification and monitoring; specific documents and supplementary document requirements must be confirmed on a case-by-case basis.

PEP Status and Related Relationships

Basis for Verification
The Central Bank of Brazil’s rules require banks to verify whether customers are politically exposed persons (PEPs), as well as whether their representatives, family members, or close associates have such status. Banks must apply appropriate risk-based controls and assess whether to establish or maintain the relationship. The rules for verifying PEP status for customers residing abroad specify that at least two measures must be used; PEP status does not mean automatic rejection. The bank’s specific forms and review outcomes are not public.
Preparation recommendation
It is advisable to truthfully list public offices and start and end dates of service for yourself, relevant controllers, authorized persons, and applicable relatives/associates. If there may be a match under the PEP definition, prepare links to publicly available biographies and documents that can explain the source of wealth and funds. This is a preparation suggestion intended to reduce requests for additional documents.
Scope
Local regulatory requirements; this does not indicate knowledge of Itaú’s internal risk policies or predict the application outcome.

Offshore tax residents, foreign entities, and cross-border applications

Basis for Verification
The Itaú personal and business account-opening pages reviewed separately show Brazilian personal identification, CPF/CNPJ and local PJ procedures, but do not confirm arrangements for non-resident individuals, foreign companies, foreign tax identification reporting, remote identity verification from overseas, or certified translations. Regulations of the Central Bank of Brazil on identity data for certain exempt entities do not imply that a bank must accept an application.
Preparation recommendation
Prepare the actual tax-resident jurisdictions and TINs, proof of an overseas residential address, the entity’s place of registration/registration number, countries of payments and receipts, and actual business connections. Ask the bank to confirm whether tax self-certification, certified translations, or an in-person visit are required. These are preparation and inquiry suggestions, not verified Itaú requirements.
Scope
Itaú's publicly available eligibility and document information is limited; no conclusion on cross-border tax reporting or assurance of acceptance is provided on that basis.

Ongoing maintenance obligations

Keep customer information accurate and up to date

Article 17 of Brazil's Central Bank Circular requires customer identification information to be kept up to date, while Article 18 requires customer eligibility information to be updated and continually reassessed as the business relationship and risk change; it does not prescribe a uniform update interval for customers of this bank. Itaú states publicly that all information can be updated through its mobile app, and some information can also be updated through Itaú online channels or its computer application. When their address, tax residence, controllers, authorised persons or business circumstances change, customers should promptly confirm the applicable update method and submit supporting documents as requested.

Transaction records and explanations of unusual transactions

Regulations require financial institutions to record transactions and monitor transactions, products and services according to risk, including cases where transactions are inconsistent with financial capacity, beneficiaries cannot be identified or information cannot be kept up to date. After opening an account, keep contracts, invoices, statements and explanations of payment relationships. If the bank asks about a transaction, provide supporting information truthfully. The rules do not mean that proof must be provided to the bank in advance for every transaction, and Itaú's internal transaction limits are not public.

Bank reviews and maintaining the relationship

The bank must classify customers by risk and review the classification when the customer’s risk characteristics or business relationship change. PEP and other high-attention statuses also affect risk controls and assessments of whether to maintain the relationship. The public materials reviewed do not specify the review cycle, deadline for submitting additional documents, consequences of not responding, or Itaú account restrictions; confirm these under the account agreement and bank notifications.

Please confirm with the bank before booking

  1. Will Itaú accept an application for an ordinary current account from a non-resident located outside Brazil? If so, through which department, channel, and branch must the application be made?
  2. Can a foreign individual use a passport or another current foreign identity document? Is a CPF still required? What dates, translation, notarization, or certification formats are accepted for overseas proof of address and foreign-language documents?
  3. Will Itaú open a PJ account for a foreign-incorporated company, or accept an overseas UBO/director? Must the applicant have a Brazilian CNPJ, CPF, local representative, and Brazilian operating entity?
  4. For structures involving multiple ownership layers, trusts, funds, etc., to what level must beneficial ownership information be provided? Which registry extracts, ownership charts, control declarations and authorization documents does the bank accept?
  5. For the stated business model, expected transaction amounts, and cross-border funds, what evidence of income/turnover, source of wealth, transaction contracts, or account statements is required before account opening?
  6. Through what channel are information updates or periodic reviews initiated after account opening? Might the bank set case-specific deadlines for additional documents, and which significant changes should be reported proactively?

Not confirmed by public information

  • No public confirmation has been found on whether non-resident individuals or foreign-incorporated companies may apply, and there are no public admission criteria by which to assess eligibility in an individual case.
  • No document list specifically for non-residents, passport acceptance rules, foreign proof-of-address standards, translation/notarization/certification requirements, or remote account-opening arrangements for overseas applicants has been published.
  • Itaú has not published a complete UBO list, internal risk thresholds, source-of-funds requirements, operational details of PEP/sanctions screening, the frequency of case reviews, or deadlines for submitting additional documents. Do not assume a fixed ownership percentage, minimum deposit, or uniform account limit.
  • The 2 business days stated for general personal applications on the official website apply only to the online process when information is complete and documents are accepted. They should not be generalized to nonresidents or PJ applications. Application fees, actual processing times, and account-opening outcomes must still be confirmed with the bank.

Sources & Scope of Verification

  1. Itaú — Como faço para abrir uma conta corrente no Itaú?

    Itaú's official website information on personal account application channels, mobile application eligibility, selfies and photographs of identification documents, listed RG/CNH/RNE documents, examples of proof of address at a branch and the 180-day timeframe, recommended proof of income and the 60-day timeframe; the page does not confirm passports or applications by non-residents abroad.

  2. Itaú Empresas — Abra sua conta PJ

    Itaú's official website PJ account-opening process: enter CPF/CNPJ, provide company information, complete facial recognition, and upload the company's articles of association if there are multiple shareholders; the site does not list complete business due diligence documents or confirm eligibility for foreign companies.

  3. Itaú — Como atualizo o meu cadastro Itaú?

    Itaú states that all customers can update their details through its mobile app, and that some details can be updated through Itaú online services or the computer application; the page does not specify the frequency of periodic reviews.

  4. Banco Central do Brasil — Circular nº 3.978, de 23 de janeiro de 2020

    Official text of the Central Bank's anti-money laundering regulations: Articles 13, 16–20 require risk-based identification and verification, customer qualification information and ongoing updates; Article 24 requires corporate ownership chains to be traced to natural-person beneficial owners and persons exercising actual control; Article 27 requires PEP checks; Articles 28, 38–40 govern transaction records and risk-based monitoring. These regulatory requirements apply to institutions; they are not a publicly disclosed case-specific document checklist from Itaú.

Fees and timelines

Itaú's personal current account page states that, once the application information is complete and all documents have been accepted, the account may be opened within up to 2 business days. This timeframe applies only under the personal account application conditions stated on the page and must not be extrapolated to non-resident or business accounts. (s1) Itaú's business page shows a monthly fee for the Itaú Empresas plan starting at R$169, which may be waived. The webpage does not show the effective date of this offer; the applicable plan and waiver conditions should be confirmed with the bank, and the offer should not be applied to all PJ products. (s2) The account-opening pages reviewed do not disclose a minimum deposit for personal accounts or confirm a business account opening timeframe; do not infer fees or timeframes.

Limitations and practical considerations

  • What is currently confirmed is the local Brazilian banking entity and the Brazil-based application steps for individuals/PJs published on its website. Eligibility, account availability, and required documents for non-resident individuals and foreign companies have not been publicly confirmed.
  • The website lists RNE as an acceptable identity document but does not specify the current document name/version or the acceptance rules for passports or foreign identity documents.
  • Services for non-resident investors and securities custody are not a commitment to open an ordinary current account and do not establish that non-resident individuals can open a general retail account. (s12)
  • Facial verification, selfies, WhatsApp or an app entry point do not establish support for global video account opening, remote witnessing abroad or third-party assistance.
  • Public materials do not establish a current appointment channel for Rengangyongsheng; the bank must confirm the applicant’s eligibility and the specific product before an application.

Licensing evidence and regulatory verification

The Central Bank of Brazil’s current OData bank directory, “Relação de Instituições em Funcionamento no País,” returns ITAÚ UNIBANCO S.A. when queried by CNPJ base number 60701190. The institution is classified as Banco Múltiplo (multiple bank), with CARTEIRA_COMERCIAL listed as Sim. This is a specific record in the operating-institutions directory, not merely an entry point to the regulatory register, and verifies the legal entity and its status on the Central Bank’s current list of operating institutions. The record does not provide a license number and, by itself, does not establish eligibility for non-residents to open retail accounts or eligibility for any specific cross-border product. This profile does not claim any license number or additional authorization scope not shown in the record. (s3, s4)

Central Bank of Brazil (Banco Central do Brasil, BCB) Official registration or record

Information sources

  1. Itaú — Como faço para abrir uma conta corrente no Itaú?

    The official personal current account page lists application by mobile phone, at a branch, or via WhatsApp; the scope of the mobile process, two selfies and identity document photos; accepted identity documents; examples of proof of address at a branch and a 180-day validity period; recommended proof of income with a 60-day validity period; an in-person requirement for joint accounts; and account opening within up to 2 business days once the requirements are met.

  2. Itaú Empresas — Abra sua conta PJ

    The publicly available application steps for a PJ account include CPF/CNPJ, company information, facial verification, uploading the articles of association when there are multiple shareholders, and selecting a plan. The page shows Itaú Empresas plans starting at R$169/month, with possible waivers; no effective date for the displayed pricing is provided.

  3. Banco Central do Brasil — current operating bank directory OData: CNPJ 60701190

    The current operating-bank directory returns ITAÚ UNIBANCO S.A. by an exact 8-digit CNPJ base code, identifies SEGMENTO as Banco Múltiplo, marks its commercial banking business as Sim, and lists its official website and registered address in São Paulo. This confirms the specific entity and its directory status; it does not provide a license number or confirm eligibility for non-resident retail account opening.

  4. Banco Central do Brasil — Dados cadastrais de entidades autorizadas / supervisionadas

    Official Central Bank dataset and resource catalogue for regulatory entities; explains the underlying data source, daily updates and official OData query resource, providing context for the nature of the data in the current operating institutions registry API.

  5. Receita Federal — Meu CPF

    The Brazilian Federal Revenue Service states that Brazilian citizens and foreigners, whether resident in Brazil or abroad, may apply for a CPF. This does not confirm that Itaú accepts account applications from non-residents.

  6. Banco Central do Brasil — Circular nº 3.978/2020

    Official regulatory page for the Central Bank's anti-money laundering/counter-terrorist financing rules; it sets the baseline for policies, procedures and internal controls of regulated institutions.

  7. Presidência da República — Lei nº 9.613, de 3 de março de 1998

    Official consolidated text of Brazil's anti-money-laundering law; sets out the entities subject to controls, customer identification/recordkeeping and anti-money-laundering control obligations.

  8. OECD — Signatories of the CRS Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement

    The official OECD CRS MCAA list of signatories; the file states that the list is current as of 2025 year 3 month. It is used to identify Brazil’s participation in the CRS framework and does not independently establish that any particular bilateral relationship is activated.

  9. OECD — Automatic Exchange of Information: Exchange relationships

    The OECD explains that bilateral automatic exchange relationships under the CRS MCAA are displayed by sending/receiving jurisdiction, with the legal basis and applicability/start date noted; this supports determining exchanges based on relationships actually in effect rather than signatory status alone.

  10. Receita Federal — Decree No. 8.506, of 24 August 2015 (Brazil–U.S. FATCA Agreement)

    The Brazilian tax authority’s published Brazil–United States FATCA intergovernmental agreement and domestic regulations support describing this mechanism as the Brazil–United States FATCA agreement; it does not mean that the United States participates in CRS.

  11. Presidência da República — Lei nº 13.810, de 8 de março de 2019

    Brazilian law provides for the implementation of United Nations Security Council sanctions resolutions, measures making assets unavailable, and the timely performance of obligations by institutions subject to AML regulations.

  12. Itaú Investment Services — Investidores não residentes

    Itaú states that non-resident investors can use representative and custody services for investments in the Brazilian market. This describes that type of service and does not support a conclusion that non-residents can open ordinary current accounts.

  13. The Banker — Top 200 Latam banks 2025: Highlights

    The Banker's 2025 description of its Latin America Top 200 ranking notes that the list is based on Tier 1 capital and is affected by regional capital and exchange-rate changes in 2024; it supports selection context only and does not establish Itaú's individual ranking or account eligibility.