Hong Kong & Overseas Bank Account OpeningCorporate / Personal Accounts · Digital Bank Appointments

Overseas banking/United States

AmericasUnited StatesLicensed-entity research

Capital One, National Association

Capital One, N.A. is a U.S. national bank recorded as active in FDIC’s current records; its entity record lists the OCC as its primary federal regulator. Its 360 Checking public terms limit eligibility to U.S. citizens or lawful permanent residents, with a U.S. physical address and U.S. mobile number, among other conditions. Small business account opening has separate requirements concerning U.S. residency and business and owner information. Public materials do not confirm a complete application route for non-residents located entirely outside the U.S. or foreign companies.

Regulator
Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC; FDIC BankFind records list it as the primary federal regulator; the FDIC provides deposit insurance, and the records also list the CFPB as a secondary federal regulator)
Check date
2026-10-26
Verify status
Some information is pending confirmation: the specific U.S. national bank entity of Capital One, N.A. and its FDIC/OCC records have been checked; public terms for 360 Checking can be verified, but the bank has not publicly confirmed product eligibility, available application channels, remote witnessing methods, or case-specific document requirements for individuals who are nonresidents with no U.S. presence, foreign-incorporated companies, or nonresident owners.

Research scope and official resources

Topic number:americas-capital-one-na

Retain the selection.json record: the candidate basis is the group information for Capital One Financial Corporation in the public large-institution screening for 2025/2026, mapped to the specific bank entity. This is a selection lead; it does not indicate Capital One, N.A.’s current ranking or constitute evidence of account opening or acceptance of overseas customers.

Bank’s official website

Personal Eligibility and Documents

Example of the public terms for the personal 360 Checking product: applicants must be U.S. citizens or lawful permanent residents, at least 18 years old, have a physical address in one of the 50 U.S. states, the District of Columbia, or an APO/FPO military mailing address, hold a U.S. phone number and valid SSN or ITIN, and have an account at a U.S. chartered bank as a linked account. They must also provide a valid email address and agree to paperless delivery. The terms do not list non-residents with only an overseas residential address as eligible customers; therefore, they do not confirm that such applicants can apply. Another general Capital One account-opening guide says that non-U.S. citizens may need an ITIN to open an account, but this general statement does not replace the product eligibility requirements disclosed for 360 Checking. The official website does not clarify whether other personal deposit products, exceptions, or additional procedures are available to people abroad; confirm with the bank in writing.

Personal information publicly disclosed or identified

  • 【Capital One 360 Checking product disclosure】Applicants must provide a qualifying physical U.S. address, U.S. mobile number, SSN or ITIN, and an account linked to a U.S. chartered bank; a valid email address is required, and applicants must agree to electronic delivery. These are product eligibility/application conditions, not a commitment to accept non-residents abroad. (s1)
  • 【General documents listed in Capital One’s account-opening guide】Government-issued identification (examples include a driver’s license or passport), SSN or ITIN; an email address, mailing address and phone number are also usually required. This guide is general information, and the statement that “non-U.S. citizens may need an ITIN” should not override the more specific citizenship/lawful permanent resident and U.S. address requirements for 360 Checking. (s3)
  • 【Capital One NRA Supplementary Form】For account details using a U.S. address or only a U.S. phone number and declaring nonresident alien tax status, the form requires Form W-8BEN and government-issued identification; if no foreign tax identification number is provided, the form requires an explanation. This form shows that a specific supplementary process exists for certain tax statuses, but does not establish that people abroad without a U.S. address are eligible to open an account. (s4)
  • 【General preparation guidance; not a published uniform Capital One policy】You may prepare a passport or other valid government-issued photo ID, proof of a U.S. address, SSN/ITIN, and information on your tax residence and foreign tax identification number. Whether these are required, whether specific documents are accepted, and the required certification/translation format depend on the bank’s requirements for the individual application.

Company eligibility and documents

Capital One publicly offers a small business checking application route. The published threshold for online applications is that the applicant has an SSN and, where applicable, an EIN. The page says most businesses can open accounts online, subject to information review. Information requirements for applications handled by a bank representative include the applicant being age 18 or older and a U.S. lawful resident, a U.S. address (not a P.O. box), the business’s legal name and type, formation date, tax identification number, ownership structure, employee count, ownership percentages, and annual gross revenue. The website does not specify whether foreign-incorporated companies, businesses without a U.S. address, or businesses with non-U.S. resident owners can open accounts; nor does it confirm that owning a U.S. LLC alone is sufficient. These cases should first be confirmed in writing with the bank.

Company information publicly disclosed or identified

  • 【Reference documents listed on Capital One’s online application page】Personal identification (Social Security card and/or personal tax return); business ownership documents, company registration documents, business tax returns, proof of ownership, SS-4 notice letter, assumed name/trade name declaration and/or current lease or proof of occupancy; current information for business owners, including ownership percentages, dates of birth, SSNs and addresses. The original page says to have relevant documents ready; it does not state that every item is mandatory for every type of business. (s5)
  • 【Information listed on Capital One’s representative/branch application page】Applicant’s name, date of birth, SSN, email, phone, U.S. address and date of establishment of the owners; business legal name, type, date of formation, signer’s name, tax identification number, ownership structure, number of employees, ownership percentages and annual gross revenue. The bank states that different ownership structures may require additional documents. (s5)
  • 【Online application portal】The online application eligibility page requires an SSN and, where applicable, an EIN. Account opening may legally require a name, address, date of birth, and other identity information, and may require a driver’s licence or other identification. (s7)
  • 【General preparation suggestion; not a uniform policy published by Capital One】You may prepare company formation/registration documents, articles of association or operating agreement, resolutions authorizing signatories, a complete ownership and control structure chart, EIN confirmation, proof of business address, identification for beneficial owners, and supporting documents consistent with the business and source of funds. The official website does not state that these items apply to all businesses, nor does it publish rules for certification or translation of foreign documents.

Address, tax, and remote / witnessed procedures

Address and tax

Personal 360 Checking requires a physical address in one of the 50 U.S. states, the District of Columbia, or an APO/FPO military mailing address; a U.S. phone number; and an SSN or ITIN. 360 Checking disclosures require the linked account to be held at a U.S. chartered bank. Public requirements for small-business representatives include a U.S. address, which must not be a P.O. Box. Acceptance criteria for foreign company addresses are not published. The Capital One NRA supplement form applies to specific cases where account information or Form W-8 uses a U.S. address or only a U.S. phone number, but the person reports foreign tax status. It requires Form W-8BEN, a foreign tax number, or, as indicated on the form, an explanation of why the tax number cannot be provided. The IRS explains that an ITIN is a number for federal tax purposes only, not proof of identity, and does not confer immigration status or work authorization. Having an ITIN alone does not establish eligibility for a bank product. Confirm in writing on a case-by-case basis whether overseas addresses/tax residents are eligible and how the bank accepts non-U.S. tax numbers and foreign proof of address.

Remote / witnessing

Individuals can apply for 360 Checking through the Capital One website or with staff assistance at a Capital One branch or Café. Small businesses can apply online, at a branch, or by contacting a bank representative. Public pages do not confirm that remote account opening, video witnessing, third-party witnessing, or notarized documents can replace in-person verification worldwide. 360 Checking itself requires eligibility including a U.S. address and U.S. phone number; online application availability does not establish that overseas customers can complete the process entirely remotely.

Public process reference

  1. First check the applicant’s identity, age, U.S. entity address, U.S. mobile number, tax ID and linked account at a U.S. chartered bank against the eligibility requirements disclosed for 360 Checking. If these requirements are not met or another product is being considered, first confirm with the bank which products are available and their residency requirements.
  2. Eligible applicants can submit a 360 Checking application on the Capital One website or visit a branch/Café for staff assistance; provide identity, tax, and contact information as instructed in the application, and complete electronic delivery consent and verification as required by the bank.
  3. 360 Checking states that there is no minimum initial deposit, but at least 0.01 dollars must be credited before the account is considered opened. The bank may verify the linked account or request additional information; publicly available information does not confirm actual approval or the time required to open the account.
  4. Small businesses may start through the online application portal (SSN, and EIN where applicable), or apply through a branch/bank representative; provide business and owner information based on the business structure. Capital One states that applications are subject to an information review and that additional materials may be needed for different ownership structures; foreign-incorporated entities and non-resident owners should be confirmed in writing.

Compliance topics, details, and sources

U.S. AML/KYC and Customer Identity Verification

U.S. federal BSA/FinCEN rules require covered banks to establish customer identification and risk-based ongoing customer due diligence procedures, understand the nature and purpose of the relationship, and monitor for suspicious transactions. Capital One’s small business application portal cites federal account-opening identity requirements and states that it will obtain, verify, and record the account opener’s name, address, date of birth, and other information, and may require a driver’s license or other proof of identity. Specific verification tools and approval standards are bank operating policies and are not fully listed on the public pages.

Corporate beneficial owners, controllers and source of funds

The FinCEN customer due diligence framework covers identification of beneficial owners of legal-entity customers, identity verification, the purpose of the relationship, and ongoing monitoring. FinCEN's 2026 FAQ explains that a bank may choose, under the 2026-02-13 exception order, not to repeat identification and verification for every newly added account, but a bank may also continue to follow stricter internal procedures. Capital One's small-business page requests business owners' names, dates of birth, addresses, SSNs, and ownership percentages, among other information, and reserves the right to request additional documents based on the ownership structure. The bank's public materials do not disclose a standardized source-of-funds document checklist; a business may prepare relevant evidence based on its actual operations, but this is general preparation advice, not a fixed bank policy.

Distinguishing U.S. Tax Status, FATCA, and CRS

Capital One’s NRA form states that, in certain cases involving a U.S. address/telephone number and nonresident alien tax status, the bank requires Form W-8BEN, a foreign tax identification number, or an explanation for not providing one, and says the information is used to determine U.S. payment withholding tax. The IRS states that Form W-8BEN is used to establish foreign status when requested by a payer/withholding agent; an ITIN is applied for only when needed for federal tax purposes and the applicant is ineligible for an SSN. The OECD’s AEOI commitment list separately notes the United States’ automatic exchange arrangement as an exchange under FATCA beginning in 2015 and refers to the reciprocal objective of U.S. IGAs. This does not mean that the United States has joined CRS, and it should not be described as a CRS participating jurisdiction or used to infer the specific reporting method for a particular Capital One account. Ask the bank to confirm the applicable forms and reporting requirements based on the account and tax residency.

U.S. OFAC Sanctions Screening

OFAC administers U.S. sanctions programs, which may involve asset blocking or transaction restrictions. This U.S. regulatory baseline is relevant to bank account opening and transaction compliance; however, the Capital One public account-opening materials reviewed did not disclose its internal lists, screening frequency, or specific approval thresholds. Accordingly, no claims are made about its internal procedures beyond what the sources state.

Deposit insurance

Capital One’s official information states that Capital One, N.A. is an FDIC member. Deposit insurance is generally calculated per depositor, per insured bank, and per ownership category, with a standard limit of 250,000 dollars. Deposits in the same category at the same bank must be aggregated. This coverage does not mean that the account itself meets account-opening eligibility, and limits for different banks or account categories should not be combined.

Compliance evidence

Account-opening compliance and supporting-document checklist

The bank’s stated requirements, local regulations, and preparation recommendations are presented separately. Acceptance in a specific case is subject to confirmation by the bank.

This guide focuses on publicly available application information for Capital One, National Association checking accounts for small businesses in the United States. It does not recount the history of the group or the bank. The bank’s website requires the application representative to be at least 18 years old and a lawful U.S. resident; the representative’s application documents include a U.S. address that is not a P.O. box. Public information does not confirm whether applications from foreign-incorporated businesses, nonresident owners, or applicants applying solely from abroad are accepted; eligibility cannot be assumed on this basis.

Date information checked:2026-10-26

Information evidence package

Applicant identity and company details

Who it applies to
Signatories intending to apply for a U.S. small business account; the application information listed publicly by the bank does not apply to cases where overseas applicants are confirmed as not accepted.
Documents to Prepare
  • Prepare the signatory’s name, date of birth, SSN, email, and phone number. These personal details are listed on the representative application page.
  • Prepare the business’s legal name, entity type, date of formation, tax ID, signatory’s name, number of employees, annual gross revenue, and U.S. entity address. The page expressly states that an address used for representative applications must not be a P.O. Box.
  • For an online application, you may have your Social Security card and/or personal tax return available; the bank lists these as useful documents, not as items every applicant must submit.
Description
The above is information and supporting material publicly listed on Capital One's page. The bank does not specify on that page whether identity document originals, certified copies, document translations, or a particular format of proof of address are required; confirm the document format for the specific case before submitting.

Company formation, ownership and control chain

Who it applies to
Companies, LLCs and other business applicants; not applicable to personal accounts.
Documents to Prepare
  • Depending on the entity type, organize Articles of Incorporation/Ownership, business registration or formation documents, proof of ownership, and an Assumed Name Statement (if any). The bank lists these as useful documents for an online application.
  • Prepare the SS-4 Notification Letter, business tax returns, and a current lease or Certificate of Occupancy (if relevant to the application). Do not interpret this list as requiring every company to submit every document.
  • Prepare an up-to-date ownership table and control chart, listing each owner's percentage, date of birth, address and SSN, and identifying signatories and those with actual management control. The bank expressly requires current owner information and says additional documents may be needed for different ownership structures.
Description
The FinCEN CDD Rule requires covered banks to have written procedures for identifying and verifying beneficial owners of legal entity customers; banks may choose whether to use the 2026 exception order, and therefore may require verification to be repeated at each new account opening. This regulatory requirement is not Capital One’s complete, published list of ownership documents.

Business legitimacy, funds, and tax evidence

Who it applies to
As a general preparation suggestion, this applies to businesses that need to explain the purpose of the account, expected payments and receipts, and tax status; it does not mean the bank has published a uniform source-of-funds checklist.
Documents to Prepare
  • It is advisable to prepare a brief business description stating customer and supplier types, operating regions, main goods or services, intended account use, and anticipated monthly volumes of receipts, payments, cash, and wire transfers.
  • For the actual business, keep contracts, invoices, orders, website or business premises information on hand. If the initial deposit comes from a shareholder, financing, or asset sale, prepare the relevant resolution, loan documents, or transaction records to explain it if the bank asks.
  • Prepare the company’s tax identification number and tax classification details; if the bank requests Form W-9, the IRS states that its purpose is to provide the correct TIN to a person required to file an information return with the IRS. Whether this form must be submitted is for the bank to confirm based on the account and customer.
Description
The first two items are general RGYS preparation recommendations, not documents the bank expressly requires. Do not infer account-opening eligibility solely from having an EIN or ITIN or filing a tax return. The forms and evidence applicable to foreign tax residents and cross-border entities are not described on the bank account-opening pages reviewed.

Due diligence and enhanced verification

Beneficial owners and controllers

Basis for Verification
The FinCEN CDD framework requires covered banks to identify and verify beneficial owners of legal entity customers when opening new accounts. The 2026-02-13 exception order allows banks to choose not to repeat identification and verification at every new account opening, although they may still do so at initial account opening, when the reliability of existing information is reasonably questioned, or when risk-based procedures require it; banks may also continue using stricter processes. Capital One requires ownership percentages and personal information and reserves the possibility of requesting additional documents depending on the entity structure.
Preparation recommendation
It is advisable to bring a layered ownership chart, shareholder register, explanation of control rights, and signing authorization, and to explain in advance any nominee, trust, complex ownership, or absence of a single controlling shareholder. First ask the bank how many levels must be disclosed in this case, how it defines a controller, and what evidence it accepts; do not assume a uniform ownership-percentage threshold.
Scope
The bank expressly sets out the scope of its application documents. Identifying beneficial owners is a U.S. federal regulatory requirement; preparing additional ownership evidence is a general recommendation.

Business purpose and transaction profile

Basis for Verification
FinCEN requires covered financial institutions to use a risk-based approach to understand the nature and purpose of customer relationships, continuously monitor for suspicious transactions, and maintain and update customer information based on risk. Capital One has not published industry classifications, transaction thresholds, or review questionnaires.
Preparation recommendation
It is advisable to use one page to describe expected payers/payees, countries/regions, main currencies, monthly transaction volumes, cash or wire transfer requirements and unusual seasonal fluctuations, and support genuine business relationships with contracts, invoices or orders. If the actual transaction pattern changes, prepare a brief explanation and supporting documents for the bank to verify.
Scope
Regulatory obligations form part of the bank's risk-based CDD procedures. Preparing materials about the transaction background is general advice and does not mean that fixed bank requirements are known.

Explanation of Source of Funds and Source of Wealth

Basis for Verification
The Capital One small-business account-opening materials reviewed list business tax forms, proof of ownership and possible additional documents, but do not publish a standard list of source-of-funds or source-of-wealth documents.
Preparation recommendation
It is advisable to explain the initial deposit separately from the main sources of subsequent deposits. Prepare documents based on the actual source, such as sales contracts/invoices, tax documents, financing agreements, shareholder contribution resolutions, or proof of asset sales, ensuring that the amounts, dates, and remitters can be matched.
Scope
The bank expressly states that its information requirements are limited to the items listed on the page, and that it may request additional documents based on the ownership structure. Evidence types and how to organize them are general preparation recommendations.

Tax status and eligibility for cross-border customers

Basis for Verification
Capital One’s page requires a business tax identification number but does not specify acceptance rules for foreign-incorporated businesses, non-U.S. resident owners, foreign addresses, or foreign tax identification numbers. The IRS states that Form W-9 is used to provide a correct TIN to a person required to file an information return; this does not establish that Capital One requires W-9 from all applicants.
Preparation recommendation
Before booking, state the company’s place of incorporation, place of operation, owners’ tax residences and proposed address; ask the bank whether to submit W-9, other tax forms or supplementary information, and prepare the TIN and corresponding explanations according to the actual tax status.
Scope
The bank’s published application information and the purposes of IRS forms are limited to what is expressly stated; eligibility for applicants overseas, tax form requirements and cross-border acceptance all require case-by-case confirmation.

Ongoing maintenance obligations

Keep account-opening information accurate and cooperate with risk reviews

FinCEN requires banks to conduct ongoing monitoring and maintain and update customer information based on risk; the public rules do not prescribe a uniform update schedule for all accounts. Businesses are advised to maintain current beneficial ownership, control person, signing authority, address, and business information and promptly provide evidence of changes when requested by the bank.

Keep transaction and business records on file

Ongoing due diligence and suspicious-transaction monitoring are regulatory obligations of banks; they do not demonstrate that customers must submit information periodically in a fixed format. It is advisable to retain contracts, invoices, payroll/tax records, and records of fund transfers, and to be able to explain the business rationale if transaction volumes, countries, or business types change significantly. Capital One has not published a review frequency or a fixed reporting checklist.

Choose an account tier and review fees and transaction habits

Capital One’s published small business checking product page shows that different tiers have different monthly fees, balance waiver conditions, and wire transfer fees. After opening an account, check the current agreement and fee schedule for the selected account to verify fees, cash deposit channels, and transaction features. Do not treat the product comparison page as a commitment to the price of a specific approved account.

Please confirm with the bank before booking

  1. If the company is registered outside the United States and its main owners are not U.S. residents, does Capital One, N.A. accept this type of company? Must the applicant be a lawful U.S. resident?
  2. Can this application be made online, at a branch, or through a dedicated bank representative? Must signatories or owners attend in person, or can identity verification be completed entirely remotely?
  3. Please confirm the scope of beneficial owners and controllers to be disclosed in this case; what organisational documents are accepted for multi-tier ownership, trusts, or structures without a single controlling owner?
  4. Are foreign company registration documents, foreign proof of address, and non-English documents accepted? Is certification, translation, or a specific validity period required?
  5. Based on the company’s industry, customer locations, and expected payments and receipts, are additional business, source-of-funds, or tax documents required? Which tax forms apply?
  6. What are the selected checking account tier, fees, minimum-balance waiver conditions, cash/wire transfer limits, and approximate application review time?

Not confirmed by public information

  • Public information does not confirm whether foreign-incorporated businesses, businesses operating solely abroad, or non-U.S.-resident owners are eligible to apply. The small-business page's requirements for representatives include lawful U.S. residency and a U.S. physical address, not a P.O. box.
  • No public information has been found on certification of documents for foreign companies, translation, the validity period for proof of address, remote video witnessing, or alternatives to notarization by a third party.
  • The bank has not published its requirements for beneficial-owner tiers, PEP/sanctions questionnaires, source-of-funds evidence, industry risk appetite, or internal approval thresholds in individual cases. This does not support an inference that an application will necessarily be accepted or rejected.
  • No uniform account-opening timeline, deadline for submitting additional documents, or fixed document list applicable to all applications has been found; fees and minimum balance requirements must be confirmed for the specific account tier.

Sources & Scope of Verification

  1. Capital One — How to Open Accounts | Small Business Solutions

    Capital One’s official page lists personal identification, company ownership/registration/tax and business premises information that may be needed for an online application; the information represents what may be needed from the individual and business. It also specifies a U.S. physical address, not a P.O. box, age 18 or older and U.S. lawful residency, and states that additional documents may be required depending on ownership structure and that applicants are subject to review of prior account handling and information verification.

  2. FinCEN — CDD Rule FAQs

    The FinCEN FAQ (page marked as updated 2026-05-06) explains covered institutions’ risk-based ongoing due diligence, transaction monitoring, and risk-based maintenance and updating of customer information; the rules for identifying and verifying beneficial owners of legal entity customers; and banks’ discretion under the 2026-02-13 account-opening relief order. This source describes banks’ legal obligations and does not disclose Capital One’s internal procedures.

  3. Capital One — Small Business Checking Accounts

    Capital One’s official small business checking product page shows that different account tiers have different monthly fees, balance waiver thresholds, and domestic/international wire transfer fees. It also lists business account application information, application channels, and additional documents that may be required depending on ownership structure.

  4. IRS — About Form W-9

    The IRS states that Form W-9 is used to provide a correct taxpayer identification number to a person required to file an information return with the IRS; this defines the form’s purpose only and does not establish that Capital One requires Form W-9 from every business account applicant.

Fees and timelines

The public page for personal 360 Checking states that there is no monthly fee, no minimum opening deposit, and no minimum balance requirement. The account disclosure dated 2026-10-14 states that the initial minimum deposit is 0 dollars, but the account is considered opened only when the balance is at least 0.01 dollars. The interest rate disclosed by the bank appeared as NaN in the webpage text retrieved for this review, so no APY has been quoted or inferred. Small-business checking accounts have different product and fee arrangements; refer to the current agreement/fee schedule for the specific product. This file does not assign an amount to an applicant when the webpage extraction does not clearly link it to a product tier. The bank has not published an account-opening processing time or overseas application timeframe that could be verified in this research.

Limitations and practical considerations

  • The disclosed requirements for 360 Checking—U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident, U.S. residential address, U.S. phone number, and a U.S.-linked bank account—are relatively clear; non-residents abroad should not infer eligibility from ITIN references in general account-opening guides.
  • Public small-business account requirements include an SSN/EIN and U.S. residency/address information; the website does not provide enough information to determine whether foreign-incorporated businesses, overseas addresses or non-U.S. resident owners are eligible. Confirm with the bank in writing.
  • An online application option does not mean global video account opening, third-party witnessing, or remote notarization is supported; no public confirmation from Capital One of these methods was found on this occasion.
  • Capital One and Discover have undergone group/banking integration, but some legacy Discover products are still serviced through Discover channels. Do not conflate legacy account servicing, insured depository institution records, and eligibility for new applications.
  • Public bank information does not constitute an account-opening service or a currently available appointment channel through Rengangyongsheng. This statement does not mean Rengangyongsheng can arrange an appointment to open a Capital One account.

Licensing evidence and regulatory verification

A specific bank entity has been verified, not merely a directory landing page: the FDIC BankFind entity record for Capital One, National Association lists FDIC Cert #4297, national bank/Federal Reserve System member category, OCC as primary federal regulator, and OCC Charter Number 13688; the details page states that data are current through 2026-10-02. The official FDIC BankFind API record with index date 2026-10-23 also verifies Capital One, National Association as ACTIVE=1, REGAGNT=OCC; in the same API, Discover Bank (Cert #5649) is ACTIVE=0. The Federal Reserve 2025-04-18 order states that Discover Bank was to merge into Capital One, N.A., with the latter surviving. Capital One’s official FAQ states that Discover merged into Capital One on 2025-05-18 and that the combined company operates as Capital One, N.A. Accordingly, the current subject of this file is Capital One, N.A., as currently listed by the FDIC; neither Capital One Financial Corporation nor the Discover brand is treated as a separate insured depository institution. However, some legacy Discover products are still serviced through Discover channels, so it cannot be inferred that all accounts have completed a unified migration.

Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC; FDIC BankFind records list it as the primary federal regulator; the FDIC provides deposit insurance, and the records also list the CFPB as a secondary federal regulator) Official registration or record

Information sources

  1. Capital One 360 Checking Account Disclosures

    2026-10-14 account disclosure identifies the bank as Capital One, N.A., lists eligibility conditions for 360 Checking, no minimum initial deposit, a requirement for at least 0.01 dollars to be credited before the account is considered opened, and account terms.

  2. Capital One 360 Checking — Online Checking Account

    The official 360 Checking product page confirms no monthly fee and no minimum balance requirement, and describes online account management and branch/Café services; it is not evidence of eligibility for applicants abroad.

  3. Capital One — How to open a checking account online

    Capital One’s account-opening guide lists general identity and address documents, states that non-U.S. citizens may need an ITIN, and says 360 Checking can be applied for online or at a branch/Café. This is general guidance and does not replace product disclosures.

  4. Capital One — Non-Resident Alien Additional Information Form

    Capital One’s official form requires certain nonresident aliens subject to reporting, and cases where a U.S. address or telephone number is used for the account/form, to provide W-8BEN, government-issued identification, and a foreign tax identification number or an explanation for its absence. This does not prove that people located outside the U.S. can open an account.

  5. Capital One Small Business — What You Need to Open an Account

    Lists the information required about the business, applicant and owners for small-business applications online and through a representative; the U.S. address cannot be a P.O. Box, the applicant must provide an age/legal U.S. resident declaration, and additional documents may be required depending on the ownership structure.

  6. Capital One Small Business Checking Accounts

    Confirmed the small business checking product and application channels (online, at a branch or through a bank representative), and that product fees vary by plan; this profile does not assign any price amount that could not be clearly linked to a specific product.

  7. Capital One Small Business Account Application Portal

    Online application eligibility requires an SSN and, where applicable, an EIN; the portal cites federal identity-verification requirements and lists identifying information such as name, address, and date of birth, as well as identification documents that may be required.

  8. FDIC BankFind — Capital One, National Association, institution detail

    The specific bank entity’s details page lists FDIC Certificate Number 4297, National Bank Charter, OCC as the primary federal regulator, OCC Charter Number 13688, and data as of 2026-10-02; this is an entity record, not merely a directory entry.

  9. FDIC BankFind official API — Capital One and Discover institution records

    The official API index is dated 2026-10-23; the Capital One, National Association record returns CERT 4297, ACTIVE=1, REGAGNT=OCC. A comparison query for Discover Bank returns ACTIVE=0, CERT 5649; the corresponding official query is https://banks.data.fdic.gov/api/institutions?filters=NAME%3A%22Discover%20Bank%22&fields=NAME%2CCERT%2CACTIVE%2CSTNAME%2CREGAGNT&limit=10&format=json.

  10. OCC Financial Institution Lists

    The OCC states that national banks and federal savings associations are chartered and regulated by the OCC; the page provides access to an institution list as of 2026-09-30, as regulatory context and not as the sole evidence of Capital One’s entity status.

  11. Federal Reserve Order 2025-10 — Capital One Financial Corporation

    The regulatory order states that Discover Bank is to be merged into Capital One, N.A., with Capital One, N.A. as the surviving entity, and records that the OCC approved the bank merger application on 2025-04-18. The order itself is not proof that the transaction was completed.

  12. Capital One Discover Financial Services FAQs

    Capital One says Discover merged into Capital One on 2025-05-18 and that Discover is now a company under Capital One, N.A. The page also explains that some Discover accounts continue to be managed through Discover channels and describes transitional arrangements for deposit insurance.

  13. FinCEN — Information on Complying with the Customer Due Diligence Final Rule

    FinCEN explains the customer due diligence framework for applicable financial institutions, including customer identification, identification and verification of beneficial owners of legal-entity customers, understanding the purpose of relationships, ongoing monitoring, and information updates.

  14. FinCEN CDD Rule FAQs

    The FinCEN FAQ page was updated on 2026-05-06 and explains that the 2026-02-13 account-opening relief order allows financial institutions to choose to identify and verify beneficial owners at initial account opening, when there are doubts about the reliability of information, or when risk-based procedures require it, while also allowing them to continue using stricter processes that require verification at every account opening.

  15. IRS — Individual Taxpayer Identification Number

    The IRS states that an ITIN is for federal tax purposes only and applies only when there is a tax purpose and the individual is not eligible for an SSN; it is not proof of identity, immigration status, or work authorization.

  16. IRS — About Form W-8 BEN

    The IRS states that a foreign beneficial owner submits Form W-8BEN when requested by the payer/withholding agent to certify foreign status.

  17. OECD — AEOI Commitments

    The OECD commitment list separately sets out jurisdictions for automatic CRS exchanges and a footnote explains the United States’ automatic information exchange under FATCA since 2015 and the reciprocal aims of its IGAs; this supports distinguishing FATCA from CRS and not describing the United States as a CRS participating jurisdiction.

  18. U.S. Treasury OFAC — Sanctions Programs and Country Information

    OFAC’s official page describes U.S. sanctions programs and measures such as asset blocking and trade restrictions, providing context for the U.S. sanctions-screening regulatory environment; it does not disclose Capital One’s internal screening procedures.

  19. Capital One — FDIC Coverage

    Capital One’s official deposit insurance page states that Capital One, N.A. is an FDIC member. Standard insurance is generally 250,000 dollars per depositor, per insured bank, per ownership category, and the page explains aggregation within the same category.